300 war movie
300 war movie

300 (2006, United States)

Categories: fantasy moviesinfantry movieslast stand movies

Running time: 120 minutes

Language: English


Persian king Xerxes is preparing the invasion of Greece. The Greek city-states have to put together an army that would defend them, but Persia is vast empire that can provide huge army. The city of Sparta is famous for itís fearless warriors and unbreakable formation of phalanx, the whole city-state is organized like military barracks with even small boys trained only to fulfill one purpose - be the perfect soldiers. Xerxes sends his emissary to king Leonidas hoping they will realize that in whole Greece there is no power strong enough to stop Persian army. But Leonidas is less than impressed by the arrogant attitude of Persians - he kills two of the emissaries and spares the last one. Only wounded he is ordered to return to Xerxes and tell him that Sparta will not back down. From that point there is no other alternative than to prepare for fight - Leonidas gathers 300 men and marches towards the pass called Thermopylae, which he thinks would be perfect to meet the Persians. With very narrow entrance and almost vertical cliffs around Thermopylae will give the defenders huge advantage over the Persian army. The most famous last stand is about to begin...

Film made with huge amounts of special effects and unique style (based on a design taken from comic books by Frank Miller) is a mixture of historical events and fantasy elements. Of course it is far from being historically accurate, it was influenced mainly by the legends and ideals of Sparta than real events, but this do not affect the overall rating of the movie. The special effects, the exceptional graphic design and not bad script it is one of the most entertaining war movies about ancient times.




Our rating

6.8

Film value

9 / 10

Realism factor

2 / 5

Adventure factor

3 / 5

Historical accuracy

3 / 5



300 full movie


full movie 300
full movie 300


300 videos


300




Creators of 300

Zack Snyder movies

Zack Snyder

director


Zack Snyder movies

Zack Snyder

screenplay


Kurt Johnstad movies

Kurt Johnstad

screenplay


Michael Gordon movies

Michael Gordon

screenplay


Frank Miller movies

Frank Miller

screenplay


Lynn Varley movies

Lynn Varley

screenplay



Cast of 300

Gerard Butler movies gerard-butler

Gerard Butler

as King Leonidas


Rodrigo Santoro movies rodrigo-santoro

Lena Headey movies lena-headey

Lena Headey

as Queen Gorgo


Dominic West movies dominic-west

Dominic West

as Theron


David Wenham movies david-wenham

David Wenham

as Dilios


Vincent Regan movies vincent-regan

Vincent Regan

as Captain


Michael Fassbender movies michael-fassbender

Andrew Tiernan movies andrew-tiernan

Andrew Tiernan

as Ephialtes


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in 300

Greco-Persian Wars (499 BC-449 BC) Battle of Thermopylae (8 Sep 480 BC)