9th Company war movie
9th Company war movie

9th Company (2005, Russia)

Original / alternative title: 9 Rota

Categories: last stand moviesmilitary base moviesinfantry moviesambush moviespartisans moviessniper movies

Running time: 140 minutes

Language: Russian


In 1987 in Siberian city of Krasnoyarsk young man Volodya Vorobiev has to leave his girlfriend Ola and joins the group of recruits that are about to leave their homes and join the Soviet Army for military service. They are transported to the boot camp in Uzbekistan, where they will train before joining the active service. Since the Soviet-Afghan war is in full swing they assume they most likely will end up in the deadly mountains of Afghanistan. In the boot camp veteran officer Dygalo, who served few tours in the war zone, puts them through rigorous and often brutal training, but he knows from his own experience that what they will face in Afghanistan will be no picnic. During that time they young soldiers build the bonds and begin to know each other better - they came from different environments and have different approach to life and their future, but one thing during the training becomes clear to them: in Afghanistan they will fight for their lives and everything around them reminds them about it, even the scarred face of Dygalo. On the arrival to war zone they meet the soldiers ending their tour of active service. They will be returning home on the same transport plane they just left and young soldiers see the plane being shot down by the Afghan warriors.

Soviet war movie based on the real events (or rather loosely based) that took place close to the end of Soviet-Afghan War when unit of paratroopers was sent to take over the Hill 3234 in Afghanistan and ended up surrounded by enemy forces superior in numbers. Of course the creators of 9th Company took a lot of liberty with the facts that surrounded the story, f.e. in real life the Soviet losses were far lower and the unit had constant contact with headquarters and constant support from their units. Nevertheless 9th Company turned out to be one of the best war movies catching the atmosphere in Soviet Union during the war and the approaching collapse of the country. It is well balanced compromise between drama of the young soldiers and the senselessness of the whole military operation that was disastrous for the whole country and never had clear political or economic grounds. A realistic and powerful look at the Soviet-Afghan War through eyes of Soviet soldiers with only slight addition of propaganda (but comparing to other Russian war movies this one is rather unbiased).




Our rating

7.6

Film value

8 / 10

Realism factor

4 / 5

Adventure factor

4 / 5

Historical accuracy

3 / 5



9th Company full movie


full movie 9th Company full movie
full movie 9th Company on DVD
full movie 9th Company on BluRay


Creators of 9th Company

Fedor Bondarchuk movies

Iskander Galiev movies

Iskander Galiev

screenplay


Yuriy Korotkov movies

Yuriy Korotkov

screenplay



Cast of 9th Company

Artur Smolyaninov movies artur-smolyaninov

Aleksey Chadov movies aleksey-chadov

Aleksey Chadov

as Vorobey


Konstantin Kryukov movies konstantin-kryukov

Konstantin Kryukov

as Dzhokonda


Fedor Bondarchuk movies fedor-bondarchuk

Mikhail Porechenkov movies mikhail-porechenkov

Ivan Kokorin movies ivan-kokorin

Ivan Kokorin

as Chugun


Mikhail Evlanov movies mikhail-evlanov

Artyom Mikhalkov movies artyom-mikhalkov

Soslan Fidarov movies soslan-fidarov

Soslan Fidarov

as Pinochet


Irina Rakhmanova movies irina-rakhmanova

Irina Rakhmanova

as Belosnezhka


Amadu Mamadakov movies amadu-mamadakov

Amadu Mamadakov

as Kurbashi


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in 9th Company

Soviet-Afghan War (1979-1989)







9th Company trivia


Number of killed

In real events, on which the film was based, out of 39 Soviet soldiers on top of Hill 3234 only 6 were killed.





9th Company quotes


Lyutyy:
We were leaving Afghanistan. We, the 9th company, we won our war. Back then we didnít know many things. We didnít know that, two years later, the country we had fought for would vanish. That wearing medals of a non-existent country would become unfashionable.




Themes in 9th Company

Soviet armymujahideen fightersMi-24 HindBMP-1

9th Company war movie © 2013-2017 War Movies Info

Google+ profile war films ww2 movies Kriegsfilme filmy wojenne war movies blog Vietcong 2