A Midnight Clear war movie
A Midnight Clear war movie

A Midnight Clear (1992, United States)

Categories: infantry movieswinter movies

Running time: 110 minutes

Language: English / German


Somewhere in France or Belgium, close to the frontline, platoon of American intelligence unit is sent to see if there is any enemy activity. Secluded area, covered with snow would be beautiful to visit, but when the GIs enter the area the first thing they find is two frozen bodies, one of American soldier and one of German soldier, place together in the middle of clearing. Americans canít figure out what this could mean, but they do understand that enemy is nearby. Their quarters are in abandoned manor, which seems spooky in the middle of nowhere. Nevertheless they set up their positions and prepare for patrols, but soon they hear the Germans talking somewhere nearby, greeting them, wishing them good night and just laughing. Officers canít figure out what is going on, so they order full alert. Next day patrol meets three Germans in the woods, but instead of shooting they just hidden and disappeared. One of the GIs begins to show signs of mental problems, so the atmosphere is getting worse. But the Germans just keep acting weird and do not attack Americans, but at the same time they donít let them forget they are not alone.

War movie based on William Wharton novel is story of young soldiers, somewhere in secluded area, facing the enemy that keep them puzzled and alerted. The atmosphere of the movie is very intriguing, the plot involving, the scenery is beautiful, but it isnít typical war movie. Wharton himself served in the army and was among the thousands of young GIs who were involved in Battle of the Bulge, so he describes it all as someone, who was there. But it is more than just story of the platoon, it is look at how people change during the war put in front of questions they donít know how to answer and decisions they are not prepared to make. Movie worth to know, but might not be for everyone.




Our rating

6.4

Film value

7 / 10

Realism factor

4 / 5

Adventure factor

3 / 5

Historical accuracy

2 / 5



A Midnight Clear full movie


full movie A Midnight Clear


A Midnight Clear videos


A Midnight Clear




Creators of A Midnight Clear

Keith Gordon movies

Keith Gordon

director


Keith Gordon movies

Keith Gordon

screenplay


William Wharton movies

William Wharton

screenplay



Cast of A Midnight Clear

Peter Berg movies peter-berg

Peter Berg

as Bud Miller


Ethan Hawke movies ethan-hawke

Ethan Hawke

as Sergeant Will Knott


Gary Sinise movies gary-sinise

Gary Sinise

as Vance "Mother" Wilkins


Frank Whaley movies frank-whaley

Frank Whaley

as Paul "Father" Mundy


Arye Gross movies arye-gross

Arye Gross

as Stan Shutzer


Kevin Dillon movies kevin-dillon

Kevin Dillon

as Corporal Mel Avakian


Larry Joshua movies larry-joshua

Larry Joshua

as Lieutenant Ware


David Jensen movies david-jensen

David Jensen

as Sergeant Hunt


Curt Lowens movies curt-lowens

Curt Lowens

as Older German Soldier


John C. McGinley movies

John C. McGinley

as Major Griffin


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in A Midnight Clear

World War II (1936-1945) Battle of the Bulge (16 Dec 1944)





A Midnight Clear war movie © 2013-2017 War Movies Info

Google+ profile war films ww2 movies Kriegsfilme filmy wojenne war movies blog top 10 war movies