Admiral war movie
Admiral war movie

Admiral (2008, Russia)

Categories: bombardment moviesnaval battle moviesnavy movies

Running time: 95 minutes

Language: Russian


In 1914 World War I set the Europe on fire. On the Baltic Sea captain Aleksandr Kolchak on the minelayer is finishing the mission when German cruiser SMS Friedrich Carl suddenly appears from the dense fog. The Russian ship has no chance in the duel, so Kolchak decides to disengage. Unfortunately Germans managed to damage the Russian ship, so the last hope for Kolchak is to lure the enemy into the minefield. His plan works - SMS Friedrich Carl explodes. For his valor Kolchak is promoted and begins his career in the navy. But soon he will have to make the difficult decision when Russian Revolution changes his homeland.

Russian film based on true story of Aleksandr Kolchak, who was important officer of the Russian navy, but during the Russian Revolution he decided to stick to the emperor. Just like many other modern Russian war movies this one was also made with big budget and a lot of CGI aiming to create a spectacular movie. Unfortunately again the final effect is far from being perfect - the biography of significant navy officer was reduced to simple romance story, the war scenes were made with a lot of effort, but minimum effort when it comes to reality or keeping the story close to the historical facts. For example in the movie SMS Friedrich Carl exploded after mine explosion. In history SMS Friedrich Carl did sunk after strucking 2 mines, but almost whole crew was evacuated after waiting for some time to be picked up by another ship. Not to mention that Kolchak had nothing to do with that sinking of the cruiser. In another part of the movie battleship Slava was involved in the battle of the Gulf of Riga, but the events during that battle were completely different from those presented in the movie.

Overall original war movie presenting war battles in World War I, which is rare, but at the same time we have the divine interventions during the first battle, the miracle shot that stopped enemy warship, etc. Not bad movie if you can skip the romance bits, but just like other Russian war movies could have been so much better.




Our rating

5.2

Film value

4 / 10

Realism factor

3 / 5

Adventure factor

3 / 5

Historical accuracy

3 / 5



Admiral full movie


full movie Admiral
full movie Admiral


Admiral videos


Admiral




Creators of Admiral

Andrey Kravchuk movies

Zoya Kudrya movies

Zoya Kudrya

screenplay


Vladimir Valutskiy movies


Cast of Admiral

Konstantin Khabenskiy movies konstantin-khabenskiy

Konstantin Khabenskiy

as Aleksandr Kolchak


Elizaveta Boyarskaya movies elizaveta-boyarskaya

Sergey Bezrukov movies sergey-bezrukov

Sergey Bezrukov

as General Kappel


Vladislav Vetrov movies vladislav-vetrov

Vladislav Vetrov

as Sergey Timirev


Anna Kovalchuk movies anna-kovalchuk

Egor Beroev movies egor-beroev

Egor Beroev

as Mikhail Smirnov


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in Admiral

World War I (1914-1918)