Operation Arsenal war movie
Operation Arsenal war movie

Operation Arsenal (1978, Poland)

Original / alternative title: Akcja pod Arsenalem

Categories: ambush moviesresistance movies

Running time: 90 minutes

Language: Polish / Germany

Locations:
the story takes place in WarsawMasoviaPoland



Young students operating within Polish resistance take up simple actions to annoy Germans and keep the morale of occupied Warsaw. For example they removed the iron board from Copernicus monument to reveal the previous one written in Polish. But soon they will have to grow up fast when a chain of events leads to one of them, Rudy, is arrested by Gestapo and put into Pawiak prison, where he is tortured. Zoska, leader of the group, plans an ambush on the truck that transfer the prisoners each day between the prison and Gestapo headquarters to rescue Rudy.

The title could be misleading (original title is Action on Arsenal) since the whole operation was an ambush on the prisoners truck and not an army operation. It is based on real events that took place on 26 march 1943 in Warsaw, near the building of Arsenal, when group of 20-year-old students attacked the truck and rescued Rudy and released other prisoners from the vehicle. Unfortunately Rudy was wounded and died the same day, just like Alek, one of the people involved in the action.




Our rating

5.6

Film value

3 / 10

Realism factor

4 / 5

Adventure factor

2 / 5

Historical accuracy

5 / 5



Operation Arsenal full movie


full movie Operation Arsenal on DVD


Creators of Operation Arsenal

Jan Lomnicki movies

Jan Lomnicki

director


Jerzy Stefan Stawinski movies


Cast of Operation Arsenal

Cezary Morawski movies cezary-morawski

Cezary Morawski

as Jan Bytnar, Rudy


Miroslaw Konarowski movies miroslaw-konarowski

Miroslaw Konarowski

as Tadeusz Zawadzki, Zoska


Ryszard Gajewski movies ryszard-gajewski

Ryszard Gajewski

as Aleksy Dawidowski, Alek


Jan Englert movies jan-englert

Jan Englert

as Stanislaw Broniewski, Stefan Orsza


Karl Sturm movies karl-sturm

Karl Sturm

as SS-Oberscharfuehrer Herbert Schultz


Werner Toelke movies werner-toelke

Werner Toelke

as SS-Rottenfuehrer Ewald Lange


Tadeusz Lomnicki movies tadeusz-lomnicki

add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in Operation Arsenal

World War II (1936-1945)





Operation Arsenal war movie © 2013-2017 War Movies Info

Google+ profile war films ww2 movies Kriegsfilme filmy wojenne war movies blog navy movies