All the King’s Men war movie
All the King’s Men war movie

All the King’s Men (1999, United Kingdom)

Categories: bombardment moviesinfantry moviesmystery movies

Running time: 110 minutes

Language: English


Captain Frank Beck makes the last preparations for his Sandringham Company to be prepared for their active service in Turkey. He trained the men himself and will lead them during the Battle of Gallipoli. But this is very special unit - they people formed into Sandringham Company are from the King’s estate called Sandringham House and thus in their departure King George V and his mother Queen Alexandra are participating themselves. At the arrival to Gallipoli Beck realizes that the situation is much more serious than he could imagine - the British forces occupy only small part of the peninsula and are kept under constant bombardment from the Turks. Soon he will have to lead the charge of Sandringham Company that became a legend of World War I - they moved towards the enemy when suddenly strange mist covered them and they were never saw again...

Film built around the legend of Sandringham Company charge that led to disappearance of the whole regiment. At least that was the legend, what really happened is hard to determined - there are several theories and several sources that suggest that there was no mist or disappearance. As for the movie it presents only one of the theories, that the men of Sandringham Company were simply cut off from their forces and killed by the Turks. Only part of All the King’s Men is actually about those events, much more about the background of the men involved and how the events influenced people back home.




Our rating

5.6

Film value

5 / 10

Realism factor

4 / 5

Adventure factor

2 / 5

Historical accuracy

3 / 5



All the King’s Men full movie


full movie All the King’s Men


Creators of All the King’s Men

Julian Jarrold movies

Alma Cullen movies

Alma Cullen

screenplay


Nigel McCrery movies

Nigel McCrery

screenplay



Cast of All the King’s Men

David Jason movies

David Jason

as Captain Frank Beck


Maggie Smith movies maggie-smith

Maggie Smith

as Queen Alexandra


William Ash movies william-ash

William Ash

as Sgt. Ted Grimes


Stuart Bunce movies stuart-bunce

Stuart Bunce

as 2nd Lt. Frederick Radley


Ed Waters movies ed-waters

Ed Waters

as Cpl. Herbert Batterbee


Tom Burke movies tom-burke

Tom Burke

as Pvt. Chad Batterbee


David Troughton movies david-troughton

David Troughton

as King George V


Sonya Walger movies sonya-walger

Sonya Walger

as Lady Frances


Emma Cunniffe movies emma-cunniffe

Emma Cunniffe

as Peggy Batterbee


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in All the King’s Men

World War I (1914-1918) Battle of Gallipoli (25 Apr 1915)





All the King’s Men war movie © 2013-2017 War Movies Info

Google+ profile war films ww2 movies Kriegsfilme filmy wojenne war movies blog top 25 war movies