April war movie
April war movie

April (1961, Poland)

Original / alternative title: Kwiecien

Categories: ambush moviesinfantry movies

Running time: 95 minutes

Language: Polish


In April 1945 Polish forces are pushing through the territory of Germany towards Berlin, but strong opposition puts the front on hold. Colonel Czapran, against the orders he has received, is planning to attack on his part of the front and surprise the enemy. Ensign Szumibor tries to persuade him to stick to the orders from HQ, but Czapran treats him as coward and slaps him in the face. The unit prosecutor, Captain Hyrny, arrives to deal with a soldier that is accused of desertion, but while dealing with that case Hyrny is approached by Szumibor, who demands that legal actions would be taken against Czapran for publicly humiliating him. Hyrny is surprised by the situation, but soon learns that by pressing charges against Czapran Szumibor tries to save the soldiers from carrying on the insane idea of the push. The tension is running high, especially when Czapran, unhappy with Hyrny’s assessment of the situation, pulls out his gun and wants to shoot the deserter himself.

Interesting war drama showing the end of World War 2 in Europe when Germans were still trying to stop the Allied offensive in the east. The officers of Polish and Russian army saw their last chances to prove their value by pushing enemy to the limits, but at the same time their soldiers knew that the war won’t last long and preferred to stay alive rather than try something brave and pointless. Good cast and interesting plot, but film is based mostly on dialogues and clash of the characters rather than actual action scenes, so it might not appeal to some of the viewers.




Our rating

5.6

Film value

7 / 10

Realism factor

3 / 5

Adventure factor

2 / 5

Historical accuracy

2 / 5



Creators of April

Witold Lesiewicz movies

Jozef Hen movies

Jozef Hen

screenplay



Cast of April

Henryk Bak movies henryk-bak

Henryk Bak

as Colonel Czapran


Piotr Pawlowski movies piotr-pawlowski

Piotr Pawlowski

as Captain Tadeusz Hyrny


Leszek Herdegen movies leszek-herdegen

Leszek Herdegen

as Ensign Szumibor


Maria Ciesielska movies maria-ciesielska

Maria Ciesielska

as Nurse Ruszkowska


Tadeusz Kondrat movies tadeusz-kondrat

Franciszek Pieczka movies franciszek-pieczka

Franciszek Pieczka

as Anklewicz


Jerzy Turek movies jerzy-turek

Jerzy Turek

as Jasiek


August Kowalczyk movies august-kowalczyk

August Kowalczyk

as Major Lipiec


Jan Kobuszewski movies jan-kobuszewski

Krzysztof Kowalewski movies krzysztof-kowalewski

Andrzej Krasicki movies andrzej-krasicki

Andrzej Krasicki

as chaplain


Jerzy Nowak movies jerzy-nowak

Jerzy Nowak

as postman


Boleslaw Plotnicki movies boleslaw-plotnicki

Boleslaw Plotnicki

as Major Kozlowski


Witold Pyrkosz movies witold-pyrkosz

Witold Pyrkosz

as Galicki


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in April

World War II (1936-1945)