Attila war movie
Attila war movie

Attila (2001, United States)

Original / alternative title: Attila the Hun

Categories: cavalry moviesinfantry moviespolitical movies

Running time: 180 minutes

Language: English


Parents of young Attila are killed during the raid of hostile tribe and he is among very few survivors. He grows up among Huns, the nomad tribe of Central Europe, in rough conditions and becomes a ruthless young man. When he becomes the leader of his tribe, he wants to take revenge on people, who killed his parents, but also make sure his people will be safer - the best defence is attack, so he attacks other tribes and builds the alliances with the strogest of them. Attila the Hun becomes the strongest leader of Central Europe and his successful raides on Balcans begin to worry the Romans. Rome at that time was weak and general Flavius Aetius realizes that one day Attila will turn his hordes towards them. He decides to forestall that and starts to communicate with Attila treating his as equal, even though he is barbarian in the eyes of other Romans. But Flavius Aetius has more than the good of Rome on his mind...

American miniseries based on the life of Attila, the leader of Huns, from his childhood to the moment he invaded Rome. The story of the barbarian, who challanged the Roman Empire, with interesting cast (Powers Boothe, Gerard Butler) seemed like recipe for great war movie, but unfortunately the creators went in rather surprising direction with that project. First of all we see Attila more as a politician than warrior or leader of army - he spends a lot of time on endless discussions with Flavius Aetius. Second of all we see him as lover and philosopher than warrior... To be honest apart from few short battle scenes it is just costume drama.




Our rating

5.2

Film value

5 / 10

Realism factor

3 / 5

Adventure factor

1 / 5

Historical accuracy

4 / 5



Attila full movie


full movie Attila
full movie Attila


Creators of Attila

Dick Lowry movies

Dick Lowry

director


Robert Cochran movies

Robert Cochran

screenplay



Cast of Attila

Gerard Butler movies gerard-butler

Gerard Butler

as Attila the Hun


Powers Boothe movies

Powers Boothe

as Flavius Aetius


Simmone Mackinnon movies simmone-mackinnon

Alice Krige movies alice-krige

Alice Krige

as Placidia


Reg Rogers movies reg-rogers

Reg Rogers

as Valentinian III


Steven Berkoff movies steven-berkoff

Andrew Pleavin movies andrew-pleavin

Andrew Pleavin

as Orestes


Tommy Flanagan movies tommy-flanagan

Tim Curry movies tim-curry

Tim Curry

as Theodosius


Liam Cunningham movies liam-cunningham

Liam Cunningham

as Theodoric I


add comment

Comment below