Band of Brothers war movie
Band of Brothers war movie
Band of Brothers war movie

Band of Brothers (2001, United States)

Categories: ambush moviesconcentration camp moviesinfantry movieslanding moviesparatroopers moviesurban warfare movieswinter movies

Running time: 705 minutes

Language: English

Locations:
the story takes place in CarentanUpper NormandyFrance
the story takes place in EindhovenNorth BrabantNetherlands
the story takes place in BastogneLuxembourgBelgium
the story takes place in FoyLuxembourgBelgium
the story takes place in Landsberg am LechBavariaGermany
the story takes place in BerchtesgadenBavariaGermany



In 1942 men of Easy Company 101st Airborne division are in the middle of their training. It is unusual unit and their training is unusual - they are paratroopers, the new type of force devised in 1930s and later proved by Germans to be extremely effective. Their rules of engagement are simple - they will be the first wave in upcoming invasion on Europe and their part will be securing the beachheads while cut off from any support. The training and the bond between them will prove to be vital for their behaviour during the battles.

Band of Brothers episodes
Currahee
While training in Camp Toccoa, Georgia the Easy Company is under command of Lieutenant Sobel, who is very strict and demands a lot from his men, but during the field exercise also proves to be completely unprepared to lead his company. Since the preparations to invasion are in full swing the company is relocated to England. The conflict between Sobel and his men leads to change of command.

Day of Days
Easy Company lands is among the thousands of paratroopers dropped over Normandy in the dawn of D-Day, and just like the rest of the landing forces they end up in places far away from the planned destinations. New commander of the company, Lieutenant Meehan, is killed in shot down plane, and is replaced by Lieutenant Winters. Winters has to face difficult task - how to take out the battery of german guns located near the beaches.

Carentan
While taking part in the Battle of Carentan the rumour begins to circulate that Lieutenant Speirs has killed few German prisoners, but since no one actually saw what happened soldiers try to keep it down. The episode focuses on Private Blithe, who suffers from shell-shock following a battle and during the Battle of Bloody Gulch has to face his fears.

Replacements
Replacements join Easy Company that had casualties during last battles, but new men find it hard to be accepted within the group - the veterans of Normandy see them as not worthy to wear the badges. The company is dropped in Holland as part of risky Operation Market Garden, and they are taking part in liberation of Eindhoven. During the retreat Sergeant Randleman finds himself all alone stuck behind enemy lines.

Crossroads
Easy Company is relocated to Bastogne to take part in the famous Battle of the Bulge, where they had to face not only the advancing Germans forces, but also a gripping cold.

Bastogne
Easy Company experiences the Battle of the Bulge and have to hold their positions near Bastogne, but due to poor weather they are cut off from supplies and while keeping the fight on they are running very low on ammo and medical supplies. The episode focuses on medic Eugene Roe, who struggles to find even the basic supplies and meets Belgian nurse in Bastogne.

The Breaking Point
Easy Company takes part in battle of Foy, where they have to advance through empty fields, which leads to heavy loses, but their commander Lieutenant Dike, who simply frozes under the fire and fails to lead his men in attack. Dike is replaced by Lieutenant Speirs.

The Last Patrol
David Webster, wounded earlier, returns to Easy Company and finds it very hard to be accepted again as part of the unit since he wasnít with them during Battle of the Bulge. They blame him for not leaving the hospital early, like other soldiers in the company, and rejoining them in fight.

Why We Fight
Easy Company enters Germany and soon stumble upon a concentration camp near Landsberg filled with almost skeleton-like prisoners that were simply left locked and abandoned by the guards, who run away. The sight of the victims leaves many shocked and disgusted, so they force the local residents to help the bury the corpses.

Points
The company captures the Eagleís Nest in Berchtesgaden, the residence of Hitler high in the mountains. Soon the end of war in Europe is announced and all the members of Easy Company are trying to figure out if they have enough points to be simply send home or will they have to serve some more time in Europe. There is another possibility, they can be send to Pacific Theater...

Despite being based on the real events Band of Brothers is one of the most gripping war movies in history - even though it is mini-series over 10 hours long once you start to watch it itís hard to stop until you reach the last episode. The series was based on book by Stephen Ambrose, who also worked with Stephen Spielberg and Tom Hanks on the equally accomplished Saving Private Ryan. Both productions have many points in common in style and camerawork, but contrary to Saving Private Ryan all the amazing and incredible things we see in Band of Brothers actually happened and the people presented in the episodes got through the toughest and most important battle in Europe: D-Day, Operation Market-Garden, Battle of the Bulge and crossing of Rhine. This is definately a production not to be missed among war movies.


Our rating

10.0

Film value

10 / 10

Realism factor

5 / 5

Adventure factor

5 / 5

Historical accuracy

5 / 5



Band of Brothers full movie


full movie Band of Brothers on BluRayfull movie Band of Brothers full moviefull movie Band of Brothers on DVD

Band of Brothers videos


Band of Brothers trailer




Creators of Band of Brothers

Phil Alden Robinson movies

Richard Loncraine movies

Mikael Salomon movies

David Nutter movies

David Nutter

director


Tom Hanks movies

Tom Hanks

director


David Leland movies

David Leland

director


David Frankel movies

Tony To movies

Tony To

director


Erik Jendresen movies

Erik Jendresen

screenplay


Tom Hanks movies

Tom Hanks

screenplay


John Orloff movies

John Orloff

screenplay


Eric Max Frye movies

Eric Max Frye

screenplay


Graham Yost movies

Graham Yost

screenplay


Bruce C. McKenna movies

Erik Bork movies

Erik Bork

screenplay



Cast of Band of Brothers

Damian Lewis movies damian-lewis

Damian Lewis

as Lieutenant Richard Winters


Ron Livingston movies ron-livingston

Ron Livingston

as Captain Lewis Nixon


Matthew Settle movies matthew-settle

Matthew Settle

as Captain Ronald Speirs


Donnie Wahlberg movies donnie-wahlberg

Donnie Wahlberg

as Sergeant Carwood Lipton


Scott Grimes movies scott-grimes

Scott Grimes

as Sergeant Donald Malarkey


Peter Youngblood Hills movies peter-youngblood-hills

Peter Youngblood Hills

as Sergeant Darrell "Shifty" Powers


Shane Taylor movies shane-taylor

Shane Taylor

as Eugene "Doc" Roe


Rick Gomez movies rick-gomez

Rick Gomez

as George Luz


Michael Cudlitz movies michael-cudlitz

Michael Cudlitz

as Sergeant Denver "Bull" Randleman


Nicholas Aaron movies nicholas-aaron

Nicholas Aaron

as Private Robert "Popeye" Wynn


James Madio movies

James Madio

as Frank Perconte


Neal McDonough movies neal-mcdonough

Neal McDonough

as Lieutenant Lynn "Buck" Compton


Ross McCall movies ross-mccall

Ross McCall

as Joseph Liebgott


Rick Warden movies rick-warden

Rick Warden

as Lieutenant Harry Welsh


Frank John Hughes movies frank-john-hughes

Frank John Hughes

as Sergeant William "Wild Bill" Guarnere


Matthew Leitch movies matthew-leitch

Matthew Leitch

as Sergeant Floyd Talbert


Tim Matthews movies tim-matthews

Tim Matthews

as Private Alex Penkala


Dexter Fletcher movies dexter-fletcher

Dexter Fletcher

as Sergeant John "Pee Wee" Martin


Dale Dye movies dale-dye

Dale Dye

as Colonel Robert F. Sink


Michael Fassbender movies michael-fassbender

Michael Fassbender

as Sergeant Burton "Pat" Christenson


David Schwimmer movies

David Schwimmer

as Captain Herbert Sobel


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in Band of Brothers

World War II (1936-1945) D-Day (6 Jun 1944) Battle of the Bulge (16 Dec 1944)







Band of Brothers trivia


Filming locations
The series was shot mainly around Hatfield Aerodrome in Hertfordshire, England, where the replicas of few European towns depicted in the episodes were built - including Bastogne, Eindhoven and Carentan. Scenes from last episode presenting Austrian locations were shot in Switzerland.