Battle of the Bulge war movie
Battle of the Bulge war movie

Battle of the Bulge (1965, United States)

Categories: bunker moviesinfantry moviessiege moviestank movieswinter movies

Running time: 165 minutes

Language: English / German

Locations:
the story takes place in BastogneLuxembourgBelgium



American intelligence officer suspects that Germans are preparing major offensive on the western front, but he has nothing to prove his theory. But when he gets the chance to prove it Germans are already pushing through Ardennes. Their winter offensive heads towards the Antwerp in Belgium - Hitler hopes that his new weapon, the King Tiger tank, will make the breakthrough. Their finest tank commander is appointed to lead the offensive, but in whole Germany there isnít enough fuel for the tanks to make it to Antwerp.

The real Battle of the Bulge had it all - secret agents dropped behind Allied lines, surprise tanks attack, fog that blocked the airforce, the siege of Bastogne, massacre in Malmedy, American counter-attack - the story itself is enough to fill not one, but few movies. The 1965 Battle of the Bulge movie was made with spectacular effort, many well known actors were involved, many extras and army equipment were used.

Of course not every part of the battle could have been shown in the movie (even if it goes for almost 3 hours), but the biggest let down of this title is that in a high budget movie depicting on of the most important battles in history creators havenít used a single German tank in it. Really, painting black crosses on sides of M47 Pattons doesnít make them look any closer to Tiger tank. The size, mass and look of German tanks had huge psychological impact which is completely missing in this movie. M47 Patton looks like a big tank, King Tiger looked like a bunker on wheels.

Besides that there are some serious historical inaccuracies (f.e. narrator in the opening scenes says "to the north, stood Montgomeryís Eighth Army" - actually 8th Army was at that time in Italy and Montgomery was commander of 21st Army Group) which makes the whole effort wasted. The creators were not even bothered by fact that the battle is famous for being fought during very cold and snowy winter, while here we see a little snow, some mud and the last battle looks like it is almost in the middle of summer.




Our rating

6.4

Film value

6 / 10

Realism factor

3 / 5

Adventure factor

4 / 5

Historical accuracy

3 / 5



Battle of the Bulge full movie


full movie Battle of the Bulge on DVD
full movie Battle of the Bulge full movie


Creators of Battle of the Bulge

Ken Annakin movies

Ken Annakin

director


Philip Yordan movies

Philip Yordan

screenplay


Milton Sperling movies

Milton Sperling

screenplay


John Melson movies

John Melson

screenplay



Cast of Battle of the Bulge

Henry Fonda movies

Henry Fonda

as Lt. Colonel Dan Kiley


Robert Shaw movies robert-shaw

Robert Shaw

as Colonel Hessler


Robert Ryan movies robert-ryan

Robert Ryan

as General Grey


Dana Andrews movies dana-andrews

Dana Andrews

as Colonel Pritchard


George Montgomery movies george-montgomery

George Montgomery

as Sgt. Duquesne


Ty Hardin movies ty-hardin

Ty Hardin

as Schumacher


Charles Bronson movies charles-bronson

Charles Bronson

as Major Wolenski


Hans Christian Blech movies hans-christian-blech

Werner Peters movies werner-peters

Werner Peters

as General Kohler


James MacArthur movies james-macarthur

James MacArthur

as Lt. Weaver


Telly Savalas movies telly-savalas

Telly Savalas

as Sgt. Guffy


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in Battle of the Bulge

World War II (1936-1945) Battle of the Bulge (16 Dec 1944)