Battle of Warsaw 1920 war movie
Battle of Warsaw 1920 war movie
Battle of Warsaw 1920 war movie

Battle of Warsaw 1920 (2011, Poland)

Original / alternative title: 1920 Bitwa Warszawska

Categories: cavalry moviesinfantry movies

Running time: 115 minutes

Language: Polish / Russian

Locations:
the story takes place in WarsawMasoviaPoland



First Polish production about the turning point in history of not only Poland, but the whole Europe if not world. In 1918 Soviet Union was planning to spread the doubtful benefits of their revolution to the whole world, so their first step was towards the Germany. But on the way was lying Poland weakened after the World War I and still politically unstable since regaining the independence in 1918. But Polish government led by Jozef Pilsudski wasn’t gonna just surrender - Polish army held the Budionny Army on the Vistula River and after receiving intelligence report planned the counter-attack. We see this story mixed with the story of a single soldier, Jan Krynicki, who leaves his newlywed wife in Warsaw and goes on the front. After she receives the information about his death she joins the auxiliary forces and serves as nurse.

It’s hard to explain why, but recently there are only two kinds of Polish war movies - fairy tales (Hans Kloss - Stake Higher Than Death) and those spoiled by the glorification of the past. Battle of Warsaw 1920 looks like the creators were overwhelmed by the historical importance of the movie and were not sure if they wanted to make romance, musical, war movie or historical film. So... they’ve done all of it in one and what we see on the screen is total chaos.

People who doesn’t know anything about the Battle of Warsaw won’t find much informations about it (with the exception that Soviets were animals and Poles were civilized). People who doesn’t know anything about the history of the war will most likely find this movie confusing. It is mixture of historical facts placed between the cheesy romance story, completely unnecessary music numbers and bunch of fairly interesting subplots about the life in 1920s.

It was interesting project to finally make a movie about the Battle of Warsaw that saved Europe from Soviet invasion in 1920s, it took a lot of effort (even 3D technology), but all of it wasted on incomprehensible script and poor acting.


Our rating

5.2

Film value

3 / 10

Realism factor

3 / 5

Adventure factor

3 / 5

Historical accuracy

4 / 5



Battle of Warsaw 1920 full movie


full movie Battle of Warsaw 1920 on DVD

Battle of Warsaw 1920 videos


Battle of Warsaw 1920




Creators of Battle of Warsaw 1920

Jerzy Hoffman movies

Jerzy Hoffman movies

Jerzy Hoffman

screenplay


Jaroslaw Sokol movies

Jaroslaw Sokol

screenplay



Cast of Battle of Warsaw 1920

Borys Szyc movies borys-szyc

Borys Szyc

as Jan Krynicki


Natasza Urbanska movies natasza-urbanska

Natasza Urbanska

as Ola Raniewska


Daniel Olbrychski movies daniel-olbrychski

Daniel Olbrychski

as Jozef Pilsudski


Adam Ferency movies adam-ferency

Adam Ferency

as Bukowski


Boguslaw Linda movies boguslaw-linda

Boguslaw Linda

as Boleslaw Wieniawa-Dlugoszowski


Jerzy Bonczak movies jerzy-bonczak

Jerzy Bonczak

as Captain Kostrzewa


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in Battle of Warsaw 1920

Polish-Soviet War (1919-1921) Battle of Warsaw (12 Aug 1920)