Battleground war movie
Battleground war movie

Battleground (1949, United States)

Categories: infantry movieslast stand movieswinter movies

Running time: 120 minutes

Language: English

Locations:
the story takes place in BastogneLuxembourgBelgium



December 1944, after breaking out of Normandy situation on the Western Front is stable. Group of American GIs in base somewhere in France are preparing for upcoming leave, hoping to visit Paris and have some good time. But at the last moment their leaves are cancelled and they packed to the truck. For hours they are transported to the east, but on arrival to small town they have no idea where they are and what they are suppose to do here. Nevertheless they are preparing to spend some time in place called Bastogne, even though it begins to snow and they have no winter clothes. They find the good house to spend the night, where young mother and her child live, but soon they get new orders - it looks like German forces have just started large scale offensive and Bastogne is one of their targets. In the morning soldiers set out to dig in positions near the town, but their orders are changed so frequently they no longer know where they are or is it worth it to dig another foxhole. Due to heavy fog they are cut off from any supply drops, so when the Germans finally arrive all the defenders are cold, hungry and tired. And that is where Battle of the Bulge begins...

Battleground is not well known and hugely underrated war movie that depicts part of Battle of the Bulge presented from point of view of regular American soldiers, who were dropped right into the middle of German offensive through Ardennes. Contrary to other similiar productions (like Battle of the Bulge or even The Longest Day) Battleground concentrates on the small unit and the hardships the soldiers had to deal with rather than the big picture of the battle. Nevertheless all the most interesting aspects of Battle of the Bulge are here - the cold, the lack of supplies, the Germans infiltrating American lines, the chaos when offensive broke out. Despite not being well known it is a very good war movie.




Our rating

8.0

Film value

9 / 10

Realism factor

4 / 5

Adventure factor

3 / 5

Historical accuracy

4 / 5



Battleground full movie


full movie Battleground on BluRay
full movie Battleground full movie


Battleground videos


Battleground




Creators of Battleground

William A.  Wellman movies

Robert Pirosh movies

Robert Pirosh

screenplay



Cast of Battleground

Van Johnson movies van-johnson

Van Johnson

as Holley


John Hodiak movies john-hodiak

John Hodiak

as Jarvess


Ricardo Montalban movies ricardo-montalban

Ricardo Montalban

as Roderigues


George Murphy movies george-murphy

George Murphy

as ’Pop’ Stazak


Marshall Thompson movies marshall-thompson

Marshall Thompson

as Jim Layton


Jerome Courtland movies jerome-courtland

Jerome Courtland

as Abner Spudler


Don Taylor movies don-taylor

Don Taylor

as Standiferd


Bruce Cowling movies bruce-cowling

Bruce Cowling

as Wolowicz


James Whitmore movies james-whitmore

Douglas Fowley movies douglas-fowley

Douglas Fowley

as ’Kipp’ Kippton


Leon Ames movies leon-ames

Leon Ames

as Chaplain


Denise Darcel movies denise-darcel

Denise Darcel

as Denise


add comment

Comment below







Battleground comments


One of the best movies about Battle of the Bulge
Joel (21-12-2016 20:25:22)




Events depicted in Battleground

World War II (1936-1945) Battle of the Bulge (16 Dec 1944)