Behind Enemy Lines war movie
Behind Enemy Lines war movie

Behind Enemy Lines (2001, United States)

Categories: aircraft carrier movieshelicopter moviesinfantry moviesreconnaissance moviessniper moviesurban warfare movies

Running time: 105 minutes

Language: English / Serbo-Croatian


On board of American aircraft carrier in the Adriatic Sea, that soon will end the mission over former Yugoslavia, Lieutenant Chris Burnett feels that he is wasted in the navy since their role in the Yugoslav wars is just patrolling the area and not actually fighting. Admiral Reigart don’t share his views and puts up Burnett and his pilot for reconnaissance mission on Christmas Day. They took off in the F/A-18 Hornet and flew into the demilitarized zone where NATO aircraft and the warring factions are prohibited from engaging in any sort of military activity. During that flight they detected the armored vehicles in the nearby area, but outside the zone. Burnett managed to convince his pilot to make photos of the forces, even though it would mean breaking the orders. They photographed the Serbian forces as they were hiding the evidence of their secret genocidal campaign against the Bosnian population. But the moment they crossed the area Serb-operated AA missiles were fired at them and their F/A-18 Hornet was shot down.

Burnett and his pilot Stackhouse managed to bail out and land in the secluded area, but soon after Burnett set out to contact the headquarters Stackhouse is surrounded by the Serbian forces and later killed. Since that point Burnett has to survive on his own chased by the Serbians and a vicious, although not very talented, sniper.

American war movie loosely (in fact very loosely) based on the real events that took place in 1995 when F-16 was shot down over former Yugoslavia and the pilot had to survive 6 days in unfriendly area before being rescued. The big difference is that in reality the shot down pilot did what he was suppose to do - avoided any contact with the locals and kept his profile low as long as he could. In this movie the pilot (or rather navigator) suddenly becomes action hero and fights his way back to area where he can be picked up. Behind Enemy Lines is quite good adventure flick, but as war movie it is far from being perfect. In fact it is far from being decent war movie when you realize from how many impossible situations he got out without a scratch. Well not exactly without a scratch actually, he was slightly injured in the arm (where else). Also the creators simple could not help themselves again creating the world in which Americans are decent and brave people and rest of the world is full of morons - see how many incompetent people were chasing him (not to mention the pathetic sniper).




Our rating

4.8

Film value

4 / 10

Realism factor

2 / 5

Adventure factor

4 / 5

Historical accuracy

2 / 5



Behind Enemy Lines full movie


full movie Behind Enemy Lines on DVD
full movie Behind Enemy Lines full movie
full movie Behind Enemy Lines on BluRay


Creators of Behind Enemy Lines

John Moore movies

John Moore

director


Jim Thomas movies

Jim Thomas

screenplay


John Thomas movies

John Thomas

screenplay


David Veloz movies

David Veloz

screenplay


Zak Penn movies

Zak Penn

screenplay



Cast of Behind Enemy Lines

Owen Wilson movies owen-wilson

Owen Wilson

as Lt. Chris Burnett


Gene Hackman movies

Gene Hackman

as Admiral Reigart


Vladimir Mashkov movies vladimir-mashkov

Marko Igonda movies marko-igonda

Marko Igonda

as Bazda


Olek Krupa movies olek-krupa

Olek Krupa

as Miroslav Lokar


Gabriel Macht movies gabriel-macht

Gabriel Macht

as Stackhouse


Charles Malik Whitfield movies charles-malik-whitfield

Joaquim de Almeida movies joaquim-de-almeida

Joaquim de Almeida

as Admiral Piquet


David Keith movies david-keith

David Keith

as Master Chief O’Malley


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in Behind Enemy Lines

Yugoslav Wars (1991-1999)