Black Brigade war movie
Black Brigade war movie

Black Brigade (1970, United States)

Original / alternative title: Carterís Army

Categories: infantry moviesraid movies

Running time: 70 minutes

Language: English / German


White officer Captain Carter it put in charge of all-black brigade that so far was used only for the auxiliary duties and never entered the fight even though World War 2 is in full swing. While Carter visits his new post he realizes that the unit is shambles - the guards do not guard, the cooks do not cook, the only things that keep the soldiers going are gambling and alcohol. He canít believe the state the brigade is in, but soon learns the reasons behind that situation. So far the soldiers were used for all the duties white soldiers would not like to take - digging latrines, preparing food and logistics. The morale of the soldiers sunk quickly since everyone in US Army treated them with contempt. Despite the rough start Carter has to convince them that they are important to the army. In fact they are important enough to be sent on suicidal mission behind enemy lines. Their goals is to save a dam that, if destroyed, would flood the area and stop the Allies offensive. Now Carter has to reach his soldiers and convince them they can do it.

Made as a tribute to all the black American soldiers during World War 2 Black Brigade was unfortunately a very, very cheap production and was based on a poorly written script - a lot of the scenes are filled with cliches and motivational speeches that are killing the flow of the film. Interesting cast (including few later well known actors, like Richard Pryor or Billy Dee Williams) and, back in 1970, pioneer project presenting black soldiers in Europe, but the film was spoiled by budget problems and low quality script.




Our rating

4.0

Film value

4 / 10

Realism factor

2 / 5

Adventure factor

3 / 5

Historical accuracy

1 / 5



Black Brigade full movie


full movie Black Brigade on DVD


Black Brigade videos


Black Brigade




Creators of Black Brigade

George McCowan movies

Aaron Spelling movies

Aaron Spelling

screenplay


David Kidd movies

David Kidd

screenplay



Cast of Black Brigade

Stephen Boyd movies stephen-boyd

Stephen Boyd

as Captain Carter


Robert Hooks movies robert-hooks

Robert Hooks

as Lieutenant Wallace


Roosevelt Grier movies roosevelt-grier

Roosevelt Grier

as Big Jim


Richard Pryor movies richard-pryor

Richard Pryor

as Private Crunk


Glynn Turman movies glynn-turman

Glynn Turman

as Private Brightman


Moses Gunn movies moses-gunn

Moses Gunn

as Private Doc Hayes


Billy Dee Williams movies billy-dee-williams

Billy Dee Williams

as Private Lewis


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in Black Brigade

World War II (1936-1945)





Black Brigade war movie © 2013-2017 War Movies Info

Google+ profile war films ww2 movies Kriegsfilme filmy wojenne war movies blog war movies