Black Hawk Down war movie
Black Hawk Down war movie

Black Hawk Down (2001, United States)

Categories: helicopter moviesinfantry moviesmilitary base moviespartisans moviesraid moviesurban warfare movies

Running time: 145 minutes

Language: English / Somali

Locations:
the story takes place in MogadishuBanaadirSomalia



United Nations and United States forces in civil war torn Somalia are preparing a raid on one of the armed clans organisation. The plan was simple - drop in from helicopters, arrest major insurgents and leave by the armored vehicles. But the plan was completely unrealistic and 120 of American soldiers were dropped right inside the area where about 4000 armed militia men armed with heavy machine guns and RPGs were operating.

What happened later is known as Battle of Mogadishu - desperate defence by Americans surrounded by large numbers of enemies. The movie is based on actual events that took place in capitol city of Somalia and is quite realistic view on a modern urban warfare.

There are some flaws in it - of course it was made in typical American style: brave American boys against hordes of godless enemies. Also there is a problem similiar to R-Point or Midnight Clear when after a while itís hard to distinct one American soldier from the other (especially at night), so itís hard to follow what is going on where, are the soldiers depicted joining the battle or leaving it. But despite that itís very good movie.




Our rating

6.8

Film value

7 / 10

Realism factor

3 / 5

Adventure factor

3 / 5

Historical accuracy

4 / 5



Black Hawk Down full movie


full movie Black Hawk Down full movie
full movie Black Hawk Down on BluRay
full movie Black Hawk Down on DVD


Creators of Black Hawk Down

Ridley Scott movies

Ridley Scott

director


Ken Nolan movies

Ken Nolan

screenplay


Mark Bowden movies

Mark Bowden

screenplay



Cast of Black Hawk Down

Josh Hartnett movies josh-hartnett

Josh Hartnett

as Eversmann


Tom Sizemore movies tom-sizemore

Tom Sizemore

as McKnight


Ewan McGregor movies ewan-mcgregor

Ewan McGregor

as Grimes


William Fichtner movies william-fichtner

William Fichtner

as Sanderson


Eric Bana movies eric-bana

Eric Bana

as Hoot


Sam Shepard movies sam-shepard

Sam Shepard

as Garrison


Ron Eldard movies ron-eldard

Ron Eldard

as Durant


Jason Isaacs movies jason-isaacs

Jason Isaacs

as Steele


Zeljko Ivanek movies zeljko-ivanek

Zeljko Ivanek

as Harrell


Ewen Bremner movies ewen-bremner

Ewen Bremner

as Nelson


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in Black Hawk Down

Somali Civil War (1991-????) Battle of Mogadishu (3 Oct 1993)





Black Hawk Down war movie © 2013-2017 War Movies Info

Google+ profile war films ww2 movies Kriegsfilme filmy wojenne war movies blog war movies