Boldyn war movie
Boldyn war movie

Boldyn (1982, Poland)

Original / alternative title: Bo³dyn

Categories: ambush moviespartisans movies

Running time: 120 minutes

Language: Polish


Polish partisans fighting in the dense forests and swamps near Bialystok. They are surrounded by the German forces and have the power only to harass the occupants. The only thing that keeps their morale is their leader, the legendary General Boldyn, who proved his devotion and tactical sense in the past. When new recruit becomes his adjutant he learns the toug and uncompromising nature of the general. With time the general feels more and more isolated from the world outside. When he learns that for some time his officers were feeding him with made up reports he starts to sink into paranoia. The officers see that his decisions and behavior have changed to the point that his sanity is in question, but they try to maintain the status quo - keep the general happy and keep the soldiers unaware of his state.

Based on novel by Jerzy Putrament the film depicts with decent level of realism the life of Polish partisans during the war. Of course the reality was twisted by the views of Putrament, who was ardent communist, so he ommited some facts, like Russian forces advancing towards the Berlin were also fighting the Polish partisans, and instead Russians are dropping the ammunition to help partisans.

But apart from that it is interesting study of isolation of the highest officers in face of the enemy. As it is said in the movie "you all get your orders, but he doesn’t have anyone who would give him an order", which summarizes the weight he had to carry when leading his men. Good cast and good script, interesting study of characters.




Our rating

6.0

Film value

7 / 10

Realism factor

4 / 5

Adventure factor

2 / 5

Historical accuracy

2 / 5



Creators of Boldyn

Ewa Petelska movies

Ewa Petelska

director


Czeslaw Petelski movies

Czeslaw Petelski movies

Ewa Petelska movies

Ewa Petelska

screenplay


Jerzy Putrament movies

Jerzy Putrament

screenplay



Cast of Boldyn

Wirgiliusz Gryn movies wirgiliusz-gryn

Wirgiliusz Gryn

as General Boldyn


Tomasz Stockinger movies tomasz-stockinger

Tomasz Zaliwski movies tomasz-zaliwski

Tomasz Zaliwski

as Krupicki


Henryk Talar movies henryk-talar

Henryk Talar

as Zybert


Marek Lewandowski movies marek-lewandowski

Boguslaw Sochnacki movies boguslaw-sochnacki

Daria Trafankowska movies daria-trafankowska

add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in Boldyn

World War II (1936-1945)