Braveheart war movie
Braveheart war movie

Braveheart (1995, United States)

Categories: castle moviescavalry moviesinfantry moviesknights movies

Running time: 175 minutes

Language: English / French / Latin


William Wallace, the hero of Scotland, shown from his youth when his father died. When he grows up he becames a leader of Scots in their fight against English supremacy. Due to his charisma and tactical wisdom he was able to defeat much stronger English forces. The film also tells story of Scotish nation - from every day life to politics.

The film was based mostly on 15th century poem, rather than other historical sources, and when we keep in mind that it was made by Hollywood studio itís not surprising that in many points it is really inaccurate and unrealistic. Wallace is shown as almost superhuman, many historical events were changed in order to make the movie more attractive. But nevertheless it is a good movie (at least good war movie) with memorable scenes.




Our rating

6.8

Film value

8 / 10

Realism factor

3 / 5

Adventure factor

4 / 5

Historical accuracy

2 / 5



Braveheart full movie


full movie Braveheart full movie
full movie Braveheart on DVD
full movie Braveheart on BluRay


Creators of Braveheart

Mel Gibson movies

Mel Gibson

director


Randall Wallace movies

Randall Wallace

screenplay



Cast of Braveheart

Mel Gibson movies

Mel Gibson

as William Wallace


Brendan Gleeson movies brendan-gleeson

Tommy Flanagan movies tommy-flanagan

Tommy Flanagan

as Morrison


Catherine McCormack movies catherine-mccormack

Patrick McGoohan movies patrick-mcgoohan

Patrick McGoohan

as King Edward I


Angus Macfadyen movies angus-macfadyen

Angus Macfadyen

as Robert the Bruce


Sophie Marceau movies sophie-marceau

Sophie Marceau

as Princess Isabelle


Brian Cox movies brian-cox

Brian Cox

as Argyle Wallace


Ian Bannen movies ian-bannen

Ian Bannen

as The Leper


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in Braveheart

First War of Scottish Independence (1296-1328) Battle of Stirling Bridge (11 Sep 1297) Battle of Falkirk (22 Jul 1298) Battle of Bannockburn (23 Jun 1314)