Britannic war movie
Britannic war movie

Britannic (2000, United Kingdom)

Categories: navy moviesspy moviessubmarine movies

Running time: 90 minutes

Language: English / German


In 1916 ocean liner HMS Britannic (sister ship of famous RMS Titanic), during World War I transformed into as hospital ship, is leaving England and heading through Mediterranean Sea to take onboard the wounded soldiers from Gallipoli. Among the nurses is Lady Lewis, wife of newly appointed British ambassador in Greece, who transfers to Athens to jon her husband. Lady Lewis is escorted by British Intelligence agent Vera Campbell, who poses as governess. Even though Britannic is not a warship the journey attracts attention of German agents, who try to prove that the ship is transporting hidden weapons. If their suspicions are thruth it would give Germans pretext to sink it as a ship taking part in the military operations - their submarine awaits somewhere in Mediterranean Sea for a chance to attack. Vera Campbell discovers sabotage attempts aboard the ship - from that point she realizes she has to act quickly to save not only herself, but all the people aboard.

British miniseries telling the story of real voyage of HMHS (Her Majistys Hospital Ship) Britannic during World War I. Unfortunately most of the events that take place in the movie aboard the ship are fiction - the ship really existed, it took such journey, but everything else is just imagination of authors. Good cast and interesting plot are strong points of this production, but it lacks both realism and pace. Scenes using CGI give the good setting for the story, but the story itself is moving slowly like a costume drama, not real war movie.




Our rating

4.4

Film value

4 / 10

Realism factor

3 / 5

Adventure factor

2 / 5

Historical accuracy

2 / 5



Britannic full movie


full movie Britannic on DVD


Creators of Britannic

Brian Trenchard-Smith movies

Brian Trenchard-Smith movies

Brett Thompson movies

Brett Thompson

screenplay


Kim Owen Smith movies

Kim Owen Smith

screenplay


Dennis A. Pratt movies

Dennis A. Pratt

screenplay



Cast of Britannic

Edward Atterton movies edward-atterton

Edward Atterton

as Reynolds


Amanda Ryan movies amanda-ryan

Amanda Ryan

as Vera Campbell


Jacqueline Bisset movies jacqueline-bisset

Jacqueline Bisset

as Lady Lewis


Ben Daniels movies ben-daniels

Ben Daniels

as Townsend


John Rhys-Davies movies john-rhys-davies

John Rhys-Davies

as Captain Barrett


Bruce Payne movies bruce-payne

Bruce Payne

as Doctor Baker


Wolf Kahler movies wolf-kahler

Wolf Kahler

as Captain Kruger


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in Britannic

World War I (1914-1918)