Cast a Giant Shadow war movie
Cast a Giant Shadow war movie

Cast a Giant Shadow (1966, United States)

Categories: ambush moviesdesert moviesinfantry moviespartisans movies

Running time: 145 minutes

Language: English / Hebrew


Mickey Marcus, US Army Colonel during World War 2, now a lawyer in New York City, is approached by Israeli agents, who offer him the position of military advisor for soon to be formed Israeli army. They chose Marcus, because he is Jewish, but also because so far no one else accepted their proposition. Soon the United Nations forces will withdraw from the area and Arab countries plan to invade the territory. Reluctantly Marcus accepts the offer and sets out for Israel, where he realizes how hard his challenge is gonna be. Israelis plan to declare their own independent country, but they have no regular army, no airplanes, no navy, no tanks and only a handful of old rifles. Nevertheless Marcus uses all his knowledge and experience to prepare improvised weapons and battleplan for Israeli forces.

True story of Colonel Mickey Marcus, former US Army officer, who after being released from active service became the first modern general of Israeli army. His military experiences was exactly what Israel needed at the dawn of the Arab invasion - with lack of professional soldiers, lack of weapons and only small forces formed out of keen volunteers needed the leader to face the overwhelming forces of the invaders.

War movie made with a lot of effort and with decent realism. The only flaws are unnecessary romantic elements in the story that doesn’t add much value to the plot, but make the movie much longer. Also some of the well known actors did not gave a best performances, but overall quite good war film.




Our rating

7.6

Film value

7 / 10

Realism factor

4 / 5

Adventure factor

4 / 5

Historical accuracy

4 / 5



Cast a Giant Shadow full movie


full movie Cast a Giant Shadow on DVD
full movie Cast a Giant Shadow full movie
full movie Cast a Giant Shadow on BluRay


Creators of Cast a Giant Shadow

Melville Shavelson movies

Melville Shavelson movies

Ted Berkman movies

Ted Berkman

screenplay



Cast of Cast a Giant Shadow

Kirk Douglas movies

Kirk Douglas

as Colonel Mickey Marcus


Senta Berger movies senta-berger

Senta Berger

as Magda Simon


Stathis Giallelis movies stathis-giallelis

James Donald movies james-donald

James Donald

as Major Safir


Luther Adler movies luther-adler

Luther Adler

as Jacob Zion


Angie Dickinson movies angie-dickinson

Angie Dickinson

as Emma Marcus


 Topol movies -topol

Topol

as Abou Ibn Kader


Gordon Jackson movies gordon-jackson

Gordon Jackson

as James MacAfee


Michael Hordern movies michael-hordern

Michael Hordern

as British Ambassador


Frank Sinatra movies frank-sinatra

Frank Sinatra

as Vince Talmadge


Yul Brynner movies yul-brynner

Yul Brynner

as Asher Gonen


John Wayne movies

John Wayne

as General Mike Randolph


Jeremy Kemp movies jeremy-kemp

Jeremy Kemp

as British Officer


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in Cast a Giant Shadow

World War II (1936-1945) 1948 Arab-Israeli War (1948-1949) D-Day (6 Jun 1944) Battle for Jerusalem ( Dec 1947)





Cast a Giant Shadow war movie © 2013-2017 War Movies Info

Google+ profile war films ww2 movies Kriegsfilme filmy wojenne war movies blog Ghost Recon