Centurion war movie
Centurion war movie

Centurion (2010, United Kingdom)

Categories: ambush moviescavalry moviesinfantry moviesknights movies

Running time: 100 minutes

Language: English / Gaelic


During the conquer of British Isles Romans push towards the north and try to invade the Scotland, but are unable due to fierce power of Pict warriors, who are using the guerilla strategy to stop them. They attack the fort in Pinnata Castra killing all the Romans inside except for Quintus Dias, who can speak Celtic. He is taken prisoner to Gorlacon, king of the Picts. Quintus manages to escape after the brutal interrogation, but afoot is chased by the horsemen. He is lucky enough to be saved by the Ninth Legion under General Titus Flavius Virilus, who was sent to the north with mission to stop the raids of the Picts. Titus Flavius was given a female Celtic warrior Etain as a guide. Soon the legion is ambushed in a valley and Quintus Dias with the survivors of the massacre is again on the run from Picts...

Story loosely based on the legend of the disappearance (or massacre) of the Ninth Legion. It is more action and adventure movie rather than war movie per se, but presented in such way and in such breathtaking scenery that it is quite involving. The weak point of the movie are details - poorly developed characters and plot twists that just make it worst rather than better. Worth to see for the action, not so much for the realism.




Our rating

6.8

Film value

7 / 10

Realism factor

4 / 5

Adventure factor

4 / 5

Historical accuracy

2 / 5



Centurion full movie


full movie Centurion on DVD
full movie Centurion full movie


Creators of Centurion

Neil Marshall movies

Neil Marshall movies

Neil Marshall

screenplay



Cast of Centurion

Michael Fassbender movies michael-fassbender

Michael Fassbender

as Quintus Dias


Dominic West movies dominic-west

Dominic West

as Titus Flavius Virilus


Liam Cunningham movies liam-cunningham

Liam Cunningham

as Ubriculius


David Morrissey movies david-morrissey

Olga Kurylenko movies olga-kurylenko

Ulrich Thomsen movies ulrich-thomsen

Ulrich Thomsen

as Gorlacon


Axelle Carolyn movies axelle-carolyn

Dave Legeno movies dave-legeno

Dave Legeno

as Vortix


add comment

Comment below