Chittagong war movie
Chittagong war movie

Chittagong (2012, India)

Categories: resistance moviesinfantry moviespolitical movies

Running time: 105 minutes

Language: Hindi / Bengali / English


In 1930 Surya Sen, Indian independence activist, and few of his followers were protesting in Bengal Presidency of British India. During their protests they were provoking British officer Charles Johnson, in charge of the local police and army and ended up in the jail beat up. Magistrate Wilkinson, who repeatedly tried to prevent excessive reaction from Johnson, intervenes and the Indians are released, but the tension between locals and British forces are running high. Surya Sen organizes a paramilitary group, consisting mostly of teenagers, and trains them to one day oppose the occupation forces. One of those teenagers, Jhunku, is under influence of Magistrate Wilkinson, who is doing his best to send him one day to England so Jhunku could get the best education, but after Surya Sen was tortured by the British the boy reluctantly joins the paramilitary group and begins the training. Despite lack of weapons and ammunition in April 1930 Surya Sen feels it is time to stand up against the occupants and prepares the plan to take over two key points in Chittagong, the police and army armoury, where they will get the weapons and be ready to defend against British counter-attack. To protect the operation he also planned to cut the telegraph lines and block railway lines, but other fighters are not sure group of teenagers are capable of putting that plan into action.

Indian war movie based on the true events that took place in 1930 when group of young independence fighters carried out the plan on Chittagong armoury raid and for short time managed to be free from British occupation. While the story is interesting the way of narration chosen by the creators made this production appealing more to the Indian audience than rest of the world - the main plot is surrounded by several subplots that make the whole film lose the pace.




Our rating

6.8

Film value

6 / 10

Realism factor

4 / 5

Adventure factor

3 / 5

Historical accuracy

4 / 5



Creators of Chittagong

Bedabrata Pain movies

Shonali Bose movies

Shonali Bose

screenplay


Bedabrata Pain movies

Bedabrata Pain

screenplay



Cast of Chittagong

Delzad Hiwale movies delzad-hiwale

Delzad Hiwale

as Jhunku


Manoj Bajpayee movies

Manoj Bajpayee

as Surya Sen


Barry John movies barry-john

Barry John

as Magistrate Wilkinson


Dibyendu Bhattacharya movies dibyendu-bhattacharya

Dibyendu Bhattacharya

as Ambika Chakrabarty


Vishal Vijay movies vishal-vijay

Vishal Vijay

as Ganesh Ghosh


Helen Jones movies helen-jones

Helen Jones

as Helen Wilkinson


Vega Tamotia movies

Vega Tamotia

as Pritilata Waddedar


Nawazuddin Siddiqui movies nawazuddin-siddiqui

Nawazuddin Siddiqui

as Nirmal Sen


Rajkummar Rao movies rajkummar-rao

Rajkummar Rao

as Lokenath Bal


Jaideep Ahlawat movies jaideep-ahlawat

Jaideep Ahlawat

as Ananta Singh


Alexx O’Nell movies alexx-o’nell

Alexx O’Nell

as DIG Charles Johnson


add comment

Comment below












Themes in Chittagong

Indian independence fightersBritish infantryBritish Indian Army