Courage Under Fire war movie
Courage Under Fire war movie

Courage Under Fire (1996, United States)

Categories: desert movieshelicopter movies

Running time: 115 minutes

Language: English


A US Army officer Lieutenant Colonel Serling, the Gulf War veteran, conducts investigation in rather delicate matter. A female helicopter pilot Captain Karen Walden is about to posthumously receive the Medal of Honor for her actions during Gulf War and thus become the first woman to be awarded that particular medal. Serling is given the task of finding out if Walden’s actions were in fact worthy of the highest US military award. From files he learns that Walden was pilot of Medevac UH-1 Huey that flew into enemy territory to rescue crew of crashed UH-60 Blackhawk, but on arrival they have found the survivor surrounded by Iraqi forces. Walden made the decision to repell the enemy, which included taking on a T-54 tank using a fuel bladder. Their Huey is shot down and now two crews are trapped behind enemy lines and have to spend night in the desert. On arrival of rescue team in the morning Walden is reported dead. Serling sets out to interview the members of Walden’s crew, but soon learns that not all parts of the original story are so straight forward as he thought and he has to keep the open mind to find the answer for his superiors.

Not exactly a war movie, although depicts events that took place during Gulf War, the investigation itself is set in United States while some of the people involved in the incident are no longer in the army. It is mixture of interviews and flashback scenes, which together set quite interesting plot. Plus really good cast and it makes entertaining war movie / court drama.




Our rating

6.0

Film value

6 / 10

Realism factor

4 / 5

Adventure factor

3 / 5

Historical accuracy

2 / 5



Courage Under Fire full movie


full movie Courage Under Fire on DVD
full movie Courage Under Fire on BluRay
full movie Courage Under Fire full movie


Creators of Courage Under Fire

Edward Zwick movies

Edward Zwick

director


Patrick Sheane Duncan movies


Cast of Courage Under Fire

Denzel Washington movies denzel-washington

Denzel Washington

as Nat Serling


Meg Ryan movies meg-ryan

Meg Ryan

as Karen Walden


Lou Diamond Phillips movies lou-diamond-phillips

Michael Moriarty movies michael-moriarty

Michael Moriarty

as General Hershberg


Matt Damon movies matt-damon

Matt Damon

as Ilario


Bronson Pinchot movies bronson-pinchot

Seth Gilliam movies seth-gilliam

Seth Gilliam

as Altameyer


Zeljko Ivanek movies zeljko-ivanek

Zeljko Ivanek

as Banacek


Scott Glenn movies scott-glenn

Scott Glenn

as Gartner


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in Courage Under Fire

Gulf War (1990-1991)





Courage Under Fire war movie © 2013-2017 War Movies Info

Google+ profile war films ww2 movies Kriegsfilme filmy wojenne war movies blog world war 2 movies