Das Boot war movie
Das Boot war movie
Das Boot war movie

Das Boot (1981, Germany)

Categories: bombardment moviessubmarine movies

Running time: 210 minutes

Language: German


Young and idealistic war correspondent Lieutenant Werner reaches one of the U-Boat bases, where he will join the crew of U-96 under experienced Captain Henrich Lehmann-Willenbrock. Just hours before returning to their boats whole crews, including the officers, are completely drunk in local bar. The golden era for them have ended - in 1939 and 1940 they were the heroes of the nation sinking thousands of tons of Allied ships, but now in 1941 the situation has changed together with introduction of new sensors on British destroyers. After leaving their bases the crews feel free again, buy after few days even the idealistic Werner begins to realize the sad reality of service on submarine - the boredom, the monotony of watches, confined space, the stench. Soon it is obvious that even the officers are disillusioned about the outcome of war - they donít believe in Hitler anymore, they know there is no way to stop convoys and there is no point in being away from their families that are in danger from Allied bombs. But the atmosphere aboard changes with radio message giving the position of nearby convoy.

Film depicts one patrol of U-boat U-96 during 1941 from point of view of war correspondent that joins the crew. Wolfgang Petersen managed to brilliantly catch the atmosphere on board of submarine, especially when they are in defence and the only thing the crew can do is to keep quiet and count the depth charges dropped by the escort ships. The idealistic war correspondent changes during this patrol - he realizes that the heroes of the submarine warfare, as he saw them in papers, are just dirty, bored soldiers that lost all the enthusiasm for war and would prefer to return home to their families. Very realistic and powerful picture of the war at sea - there are no heroes, no patrotic speaches, no medals - just grim reality of being trapped in the small boat beneath the sea and hoping to survive another attack.


Our rating

8.8

Film value

10 / 10

Realism factor

5 / 5

Adventure factor

3 / 5

Historical accuracy

4 / 5



Das Boot full movie


full movie Das Boot on DVDfull movie Das Boot on DVD

Creators of Das Boot

Wolfgang Petersen movies

Wolfgang Petersen movies

Lothar Buchheim movies

Lothar Buchheim

screenplay



Cast of Das Boot

Jurgen Prochnow movies jurgen-prochnow

Jurgen Prochnow

as Capt.-Lt. Henrich Lehmann-Willenbrock


Herbert Gronemeyer movies herbert-gronemeyer

Herbert Gronemeyer

as Lt. Werner


Klaus Wennemann movies klaus-wennemann

Klaus Wennemann

as Chief Engineer Fritz Grade


Hubertus Bengsch movies hubertus-bengsch

Hubertus Bengsch

as 1st Lieutenant


Martin Semmelrogge movies martin-semmelrogge

Martin Semmelrogge

as 2nd Lieutenant


Bernd Tauber movies bernd-tauber

Bernd Tauber

as Kriechbaum - Chief Quartermaster


Uwe Ochsenknecht movies uwe-ochsenknecht

Uwe Ochsenknecht

as Chief Bosun


Erwin Leder movies erwin-leder

Erwin Leder

as Johann


Heinz Hoenig movies heinz-hoenig

Heinz Hoenig

as Hinrich


Jan Fedder movies jan-fedder

Jan Fedder

as Pilgrim


Ralf Richter movies ralf-richter

Ralf Richter

as Frenssen


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in Das Boot

World War II (1936-1945) Battle of the Atlantic (3 Sep 1939)