Deathwatch war movie
Deathwatch war movie

Deathwatch (2002, United Kingdom)

Categories: fantasy moviesinfantry moviesmystery moviesscience fiction moviestrenches movies

Running time: 90 minutes

Language: English / French / German


During a night battle somewhere in the Western Front of World War I British platoon attacks German trenches. Sergeant David Tate gets caught in the barbed wire and is unable to move. He calls out to Private Charlie Shakespeare to help him, but young boy is too scared to do anything. Finally he just runs away from Tate and gets under heavy fire. In the morning the platoon advances through open space in dense fog. They stumble upon German trenches that seems to be deserted, but to make sure they search the area to secure the position. While checking the complex maze-like trenches they find few German soldiers alive and a lot of dead bodies, but it seems that most of them died in internal fight between Germans and not from hands of the enemy. The three soldiers that they have found alive seems terrified, but not at the sight of British, but at something that is lurking somewhere in the trenches. One of them, Friedrich, warns them that evil force lives in this muddy maze and it will turn them against each other.

Mystery drama set during the World War I was an interesting approach to the theme, but just like other similar productions (f.e. The Bunker) that mixed war and horror not everything worked well. There was something missing about Deathwatch - the atmosphere was there, the premise was good, but with time the film was only losing value and the plot quickly became stale. Perhaps the real war is such horror that adding some mysterious elements to it just doesnít seem to work. Or perhaps those two just donít mix up. Whatever the reason was Deathwatch is obviously not the answer.




Our rating

4.4

Film value

5 / 10

Realism factor

3 / 5

Adventure factor

2 / 5

Historical accuracy

1 / 5



Deathwatch full movie


full movie Deathwatch on DVD
full movie Deathwatch full movie


Creators of Deathwatch

Michael J. Bassett movies

Michael J. Bassett movies


Cast of Deathwatch

Jamie Bell movies jamie-bell

Jamie Bell

as Private Shakespeare


Ruaidhri Conroy movies ruaidhri-conroy

Ruaidhri Conroy

as Private Chevasse


Mike Downey movies mike-downey

Mike Downey

as Martin Plummer


Laurence Fox movies laurence-fox

Laurence Fox

as Captain Jennings


Dean Lennox Kelly movies dean-lennox-kelly

Dean Lennox Kelly

as Private McNess


Kris Marshall movies kris-marshall

Kris Marshall

as Private Starinski


Andy Serkis movies andy-serkis

Andy Serkis

as Private Quinn


Torben Liebrecht movies torben-liebrecht

Torben Liebrecht

as Friedrich


Roman Horak movies roman-horak

Roman Horak

as German soldier


Hans Matheson movies hans-matheson

Hans Matheson

as Private Hawkstone


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in Deathwatch

World War I (1914-1918)