Raid on Drvar war movie
Raid on Drvar war movie

Raid on Drvar (1963, Yugoslavia)

Original / alternative title: Desant na Drvar

Categories: infantry moviesparatroopers moviespartisans movies

Running time: 105 minutes

Language: Serbo-Croatian


Hitler puts pressure on General Rendulich to finally destroy the Yugoslavian partisans that are keeping the German forces occupied in Balkans. Rendulich decides that to weaken the opposition they should hit the headquarters of Josip Broz Tito, the main commander of partisans, and if possible catch or kill Tito himself. Germans prepare combined operation - paratroopers are dropped on the expected location of the headquarters and at the same time ground forces are surrounding the terrain.

Like other Yugoslavian war movies Raid on Drvar is a mixture of depiction of real events (that took place in 1944) and a propaganda bits showing heroism of partisans and the bestiality of German army. And like other Yugoslavian movies this one also has very specific narrative style - just showing the events without any interpretation nor giving them deeper meaning. And unfortunately the creators have used several parts of the film straight from real World War 2 newsreels with horrible, horrible effect (f.e. partisans look through the binoculars and see closeup of Tito’s meeting with foreigners obviously taken from completely different source).

Just like other Yugoslavian war movies shows important battles of World War 2 on Balkans, but does it in rather inapt way.




Our rating

4.8

Film value

4 / 10

Realism factor

2 / 5

Adventure factor

2 / 5

Historical accuracy

4 / 5



Raid on Drvar full movie


full movie Raid on Drvar on DVD


Creators of Raid on Drvar

Fadil Hadzic movies

Fadil Hadzic

director


Bora Cosic movies

Bora Cosic

screenplay


Fadil Hadzic movies

Fadil Hadzic

screenplay



Cast of Raid on Drvar

Ljubisa Samardzic movies ljubisa-samardzic

Pavle Vuisic movies pavle-vuisic

Pavle Vuisic

as Vasina


Maks Furijan movies maks-furijan

Maks Furijan

as General Rendulich


Mata Milosevic movies mata-milosevic

Mata Milosevic

as Lieutenant von Varnbüller


Marija Lojk movies marija-lojk

Franek Trefalt movies franek-trefalt

Franek Trefalt

as Charlie


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in Raid on Drvar

World War II (1936-1945) Raid on Drvar (25 May 1944)





Raid on Drvar war movie © 2013-2017 War Movies Info

Google+ profile war films ww2 movies Kriegsfilme filmy wojenne war movies blog top 25 war movies