Down Periscope war movie
Down Periscope war movie

Down Periscope (1996, United States)

Categories: navy moviesraid moviessubmarine movies

Running time: 90 minutes

Language: English


Tom Dodge is far from being typical material for submarine commander - he is eccentric, insubordinate, he doesnít get along with his superiors, not to mention the tattoo on his penis... When he is overlooked for the third time as candidate to became commander of nuclear submarine means that he will be reassigned to a desk job or will have to leave the navy. However Vice Admiral Winslow finds a different way to make use of Dodge unique skills. He offers him a command of submarine, but much to Dodgeís dispear it isnít nuclear submarine. He is given command of World War 2 submarine that was supposed to be scrapped soon. Winslow wants Dodge to take part in the vital excercise - since most of the US enemies has nuclear weapons navy plans to simulate the attack of diesel-powered submarine on the East Coast and Dodge with his unconventional approach to the service might be the factor needed for this mission to succeed.

Rear Admiral Graham, who canít stand Dodge, doesnít want this mission to be too easy for Dodge, assigns him a crew of worst rejects he could find and as a cherry on the top he sends Lieutenant Emily Lake as diving officer knowing the reluctance of sailors to have woman onboard and also that older submarines are not suitable for mixed-gender crews. Surrounded by incompetent sailors and not much better officers Dodge sets out for the hopeless mission with ingenuity as his only weapon.

Comedy with submarine warfare as main theme - brilliant, but unconventional officer is given the task that he simply has to fail. The scipt canít be called brilliant nor inspired - it is simple and goofy comedy that could be quite entertaining.




Our rating

6.0

Film value

7 / 10

Realism factor

3 / 5

Adventure factor

4 / 5

Historical accuracy

1 / 5



Down Periscope full movie


full movie Down Periscope full movie
full movie Down Periscope on DVD


Creators of Down Periscope

David S. Ward movies

Hugh Wilson movies

Hugh Wilson

screenplay


Andrew Kurtzman movies

Andrew Kurtzman

screenplay


Eliot Wald movies

Eliot Wald

screenplay



Cast of Down Periscope

Kelsey Grammer movies kelsey-grammer

Kelsey Grammer

as Tom Dodge


Lauren Holly movies lauren-holly

Lauren Holly

as Emily Lake


Rob Schneider movies rob-schneider

Rob Schneider

as Marty Pascal


Harry Dean Stanton movies harry-dean-stanton

Rip Torn movies rip-torn

Rip Torn

as Admiral Winslow


Bruce Dern movies bruce-dern

Bruce Dern

as Admiral Graham


Ken Hudson Campbell movies ken-hudson-campbell

Toby Huss movies toby-huss

Toby Huss

as Nitro


Duane Martin movies duane-martin

Duane Martin

as Jackson


Jonathan Penner movies jonathan-penner

Bradford Tatum movies bradford-tatum

Bradford Tatum

as Stepanak


Harland Williams movies harland-williams

William H. Macy movies william-h.-macy

William H. Macy

as Captain Knox


Patton Oswalt movies patton-oswalt

Patton Oswalt

as radioman


add comment

Comment below












Down Periscope trivia


USS Pampanito

The real World War 2 Balao class submarine was used in the movie - USS Pampanito (SS 383) that completed six war patrols from 1944 to 1945 and served as a Naval Reserve Training ship from 1960 to 1971. Due to lack of submerging capability models had to be used in the underwater scenes.