War movies

War movies often show the worts times in the history of human kind, but even in those times the humanity sometimes was able to overcome to gore and horror. The war brings the worst sides of human nature, but at the same time can show the best sides of people. As someone one said in war there are no atheists - war affects everyone.



Napoleonic Wars1803-1815American Civil War1861-1865World War I1914-1918World War II1936-1945Korean War1950-1953Cold War1953-1991Vietnam War1955-1975Gulf War1990-1991Iraq War2003-2011aircraft moviesambush moviesbombardment moviescavalry moviescommandos moviescovert operations moviesdesert moviesinfantry moviesjungle movieslanding movieslast stand moviesmilitary base moviesnavy moviespartisans moviespolitical moviesPOW camp moviesraid moviesreconnaissance moviesresistance moviessiege moviesspecial forces moviesspy moviessubmarine moviesurban warfare movieswinter movies American war moviesBritish war moviesPolish war moviesGerman war moviesFrench war moviesItalian war moviesRussian war moviesAustralian war movies World War 1 war games World War 2 war games Vietnam War games other war games tanks guide warships guide warplanes guide

Downfall war movie
Downfall war movie
Downfall war movie
Downfall war movie
Downfall war movie
Downfall war movie
Downfall war movie
Downfall war movie
Downfall war movie
Downfall war movie

Downfall war movie

2004

Downfall (2004, Germany)

Original / alternative title: Der Untergang

Categories: bunker moviesurban warfare moviesinfantry movies



Running time: 180 minutes

Language: German

Locations:
the story takes place in BerlinBerlinGermany



Traudl Junge, a 22-year-old woman, is among few candidates to become new private secretary to the Fuhrer. On their first meeting Traudl was very nervous, but Hitler seemed to be a warm and friendly man. Despite her young age she did got the job, but almost 3 years later the situation has changed dramatically. When Nazi troops were retreating on both Eastern and Western Front Hitler together with his staff have moved to the Hitler’s bunker in the heart of Berlin. It is April 1945 and the city is almost surrounded by Soviets, who attack from the east. The situation is dramatic and the Hitler Traudl met in 1942 is long gone. Locked inside the bunker he still plans great counter-offensive that will crash his enemies, but in reality those armies he will push against Soviets do not exists. Hitler simply refuses to face the reality and instead of hearing to advice from his generals he accuses them of sabotage and insubordination. The morale among soldiers is very low, the defence is about to collapse, but for Hitler it is just a matter of bald moves that can save Berlin and change the whole face of the war. His paranoia forces him to seek enemies among his staff instead of finding a way of escaping from Berlin.

War movie based on the memoirs of Traudl Junge, who was Hitler’s last private secretary and until his death he remained inside the bunker, where she was a witness to degradation of Third Reich and the downall of the Fuhrer. With high realism the film shows the atmosphere inside the bunker and the different approach of the staff to inevitable surrender. Very strong movie that shows the brutal reality of how human mind works under such pressure - the enemies are at the gates of Berlin, there are last chances to escape, but some of the officers choose to commit suicide at the last moment rather than leave their post, even though their leader is obviously out of his mind.


Our rating

8.0 / 10


Film value

8 / 10


Realism factor

5 / 5


Adventure factor

2 / 5


Historical accuracy factor

5 / 5



Watch Downfall


Watch Downfall online


Downfall videos


Downfall scene




add comment

Comment below







Creators of Downfall


Cast of Downfall

Bruno Ganz movies bruno-ganz
as Adolf Hitler

Alexandra Maria Lara movies alexandra-maria-lara
as Traudl Junge

Ulrich Matthes movies ulrich-matthes
as Joseph Goebbels

Juliane Koehler movies juliane-koehler
as Eva Braun

Christian Berkel movies christian-berkel
as Dr. Ernst-Günther Schenck

Birgit Minichmayr movies birgit-minichmayr
as Gerda Christian

Corinna Harfouch movies corinna-harfouch
as Magda Goebbels

Thomas Kretschmann movies thomas-kretschmann
as Hermann Fegelein

Heino Ferch movies heino-ferch
as Albert Speer

Goetz Otto movies goetz-otto
as Otto Günsche

Ulrich Noethen movies ulrich-noethen
as Heinrich Himmler

Christian Redl movies christian-redl
as Alfred Jodl


Events depicted in Downfall

World War II (1936-1945) Battle of Berlin (16 Apr 1945)




Downfall trivia


Parkinson’s disease
In order to prepare for the role of Hitler actor Bruno Ganz studied Parkinson’s disease patients in a Swiss hospital.








Downfall quotes


Wilhelm Keitel:
Your report impressed the Führer. He has appointed you commander of Berlin’s defenses.
Helmuth Weidling:
I’d rather be shot than have this honor.


Joseph Goebbels:
I feel no sympathy. I repeat, I feel no sympathy! The German people chose their fate. That may surprise some people. Don’t fool yourself. We didn’t force the German people. They gave us a mandate, and now their little throats are being cut!