Downfall war movie
Downfall war movie

Downfall (2004, Germany)

Original / alternative title: Der Untergang

Categories: bunker moviesurban warfare moviesinfantry movies

Running time: 180 minutes

Language: German

Locations:
the story takes place in BerlinBerlinGermany



Traudl Junge, a 22-year-old woman, is among few candidates to become new private secretary to the Fuhrer. On their first meeting Traudl was very nervous, but Hitler seemed to be a warm and friendly man. Despite her young age she did got the job, but almost 3 years later the situation has changed dramatically. When Nazi troops were retreating on both Eastern and Western Front Hitler together with his staff have moved to the Hitlerís bunker in the heart of Berlin. It is April 1945 and the city is almost surrounded by Soviets, who attack from the east. The situation is dramatic and the Hitler Traudl met in 1942 is long gone. Locked inside the bunker he still plans great counter-offensive that will crash his enemies, but in reality those armies he will push against Soviets do not exists. Hitler simply refuses to face the reality and instead of hearing to advice from his generals he accuses them of sabotage and insubordination. The morale among soldiers is very low, the defence is about to collapse, but for Hitler it is just a matter of bald moves that can save Berlin and change the whole face of the war. His paranoia forces him to seek enemies among his staff instead of finding a way of escaping from Berlin.

War movie based on the memoirs of Traudl Junge, who was Hitlerís last private secretary and until his death he remained inside the bunker, where she was a witness to degradation of Third Reich and the downall of the Fuhrer. With high realism the film shows the atmosphere inside the bunker and the different approach of the staff to inevitable surrender. Very strong movie that shows the brutal reality of how human mind works under such pressure - the enemies are at the gates of Berlin, there are last chances to escape, but some of the officers choose to commit suicide at the last moment rather than leave their post, even though their leader is obviously out of his mind.




Our rating

8.0

Film value

8 / 10

Realism factor

5 / 5

Adventure factor

2 / 5

Historical accuracy

5 / 5



Downfall full movie


full movie Watch Downfall online


Downfall videos


Downfall scene




Creators of Downfall

Bernd Eichinger movies

Bernd Eichinger movies

Bernd Eichinger

screenplay



Cast of Downfall

Bruno Ganz movies bruno-ganz

Bruno Ganz

as Adolf Hitler


Alexandra Maria Lara movies alexandra-maria-lara

Alexandra Maria Lara

as Traudl Junge


Ulrich Matthes movies ulrich-matthes

Ulrich Matthes

as Joseph Goebbels


Juliane Koehler movies juliane-koehler

Juliane Koehler

as Eva Braun


Christian Berkel movies christian-berkel

Christian Berkel

as Dr. Ernst-GŁnther Schenck


Birgit Minichmayr movies birgit-minichmayr

Birgit Minichmayr

as Gerda Christian


Corinna Harfouch movies corinna-harfouch

Corinna Harfouch

as Magda Goebbels


Thomas Kretschmann movies thomas-kretschmann

Thomas Kretschmann

as Hermann Fegelein


Heino Ferch movies heino-ferch

Heino Ferch

as Albert Speer


Goetz Otto movies goetz-otto

Goetz Otto

as Otto GŁnsche


Ulrich Noethen movies ulrich-noethen

Ulrich Noethen

as Heinrich Himmler


Christian Redl movies christian-redl

Christian Redl

as Alfred Jodl


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in Downfall

World War II (1936-1945) Battle of Berlin (16 Apr 1945)







Downfall trivia


Parkinsonís disease

In order to prepare for the role of Hitler actor Bruno Ganz studied Parkinsonís disease patients in a Swiss hospital.





Downfall quotes


Wilhelm Keitel:
Your report impressed the FŁhrer. He has appointed you commander of Berlinís defenses.
Helmuth Weidling:
Iíd rather be shot than have this honor.


Joseph Goebbels:
I feel no sympathy. I repeat, I feel no sympathy! The German people chose their fate. That may surprise some people. Donít fool yourself. We didnít force the German people. They gave us a mandate, and now their little throats are being cut!