The Road West war movie
The Road West war movie

The Road West (1961, Poland)

Original / alternative title: Droga na zachod

Categories: ambush movieswinter movies

Running time: 80 minutes

Language: Polish / Russian


In the last days of World War 2 retired train driver agrees to steer the train that is heading towards the front in the west. Young man, who tries to find the way westward, pretends to be train driver assistant to get on the train. During the way the military guards are killed in ambush, but the train driver refuses to back down and despite the danger drives the train into the frontline zone.

Simple war time story based more on the characters than plot and as war movie average at best. Letís just say that the authors of original story (Dziewanowski and Pijanowski) withdrew their names from the project when they found out what changes were made to the script.




Our rating

4.8

Film value

4 / 10

Realism factor

3 / 5

Adventure factor

3 / 5

Historical accuracy

2 / 5



Creators of The Road West

Bohdan Poreba movies

Adam Perzyk movies

Adam Perzyk

screenplay


Kazimierz Dziewanowski movies

Lech Pijanowski movies

Lech Pijanowski

screenplay



Cast of The Road West

Kazimierz Opalinski movies kazimierz-opalinski

Wladyslaw Kowalski movies wladyslaw-kowalski

Ryszard Pietruski movies ryszard-pietruski

Jozef Nalberczak movies jozef-nalberczak

Jozef Nalberczak

as Sovier officer


Adam Pawlikowski movies adam-pawlikowski

Adam Pawlikowski

as Guards commander


Mieczyslaw Voit movies mieczyslaw-voit

Mieczyslaw Voit

as German robber


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in The Road West

World War II (1936-1945)





The Road West war movie © 2013-2017 War Movies Info

Google+ profile war films ww2 movies Kriegsfilme filmy wojenne war movies blog Ghost Recon