Enemy at the Gates war movie
Enemy at the Gates war movie

Enemy at the Gates (2001, United States)

Categories:

Running time: 131 minutes

Language: English

Locations:
the story takes place in VolgogradVolgogradRussia



During the Battle of Stalingrad in 1942 young Russian sniper, Vasily Zaytsev, gains a reputation for his great accuracy. Local communist party commisar wants to make use of Zaytsev’s talent and fame, hoping to made him an icon that would boost morale of fighting men. With each patrol Zaytsev gains new experience and increases his record of kills. The Germans soon realize that they have to stop Zaytsev, not only because he is so effective, but to kill his legend and show communist propaganda that he is only human. Their most experienced sniper, Major König, is transfered from teaching the snipers in academy in Germany to active service in Stalingrad to hunt down and kill Zaytsev. But as any experienced hunter would do König begins with observation of the terrain and Zaytsev himself. During one of patrols through the ruined Stalingrad König kills Russian sniper Koulikov with almost impossible shot - from that point Zaytsev realizes that it will take all his skills and cunning to survive in that duel.

Great movie showing one of the elements of battle of Stalingrad - the battles between the snipers that had a perfect conditions for their patrols - the city in ruins filled with soldiers that can’t hide forever. As many other American war movies this is also "based on true story", but as usual this doesn’t mean that those actual events took place. Vasily Zaytsev is historical character, he was the most famous Russian sniper during the World War 2, but his duel with German officer never actually took place. Although he did fought such game of cat-and-mouse (which lasted three days) with German sniper, but that German wasn’t officer and it wasn’t duel, just part of the war for both of them. But overall movie is very realistic, plot is gripping, good cast and high quality battle scenes.




Our rating

8.8

Film value

9 / 10

Realism factor

4 / 5

Adventure factor

5 / 5

Historical accuracy

4 / 5



Enemy at the Gates full movie


full movie Enemy at the Gates on DVD
full movie Enemy at the Gates full movie


Creators of Enemy at the Gates

Jean-Jacques Annaud movies

Jean-Jacques Annaud movies

Alain Godard movies

Alain Godard

screenplay



Cast of Enemy at the Gates

Jude Law movies jude-law

Jude Law

as Vasily Zaytsev


Ed Harris movies ed-harris

Ed Harris

as Major Erwin König


Joseph Fiennes movies joseph-fiennes

Joseph Fiennes

as Commisar Danilov


Rachel Weisz movies rachel-weisz

Rachel Weisz

as Tania Chernova


Ron Perlman movies ron-perlman

Ron Perlman

as Koulikov


Bob Hoskins movies bob-hoskins

Bob Hoskins

as Nikita Khrushchev


Matthias Habich movies matthias-habich

Matthias Habich

as General Friedrich Paulus


Gabriel Thomson movies gabriel-thomson

Gabriel Thomson

as Sacha Filipov


add comment

Comment below







Enemy at the Gates comments


great mystery, but now no one will ever solve it
great (31-12-2016 16:42:44)




Events depicted in Enemy at the Gates

World War II (1936-1945) Battle of Stalingrad (23 Aug 1942)





Enemy at the Gates war movie © 2013-2017 War Movies Info

Google+ profile war films ww2 movies Kriegsfilme filmy wojenne war movies blog Polans Wars