The Enemy Below war movie
The Enemy Below war movie

The Enemy Below (1957, United States)

Categories: navy moviessubmarine movies

Running time: 95 minutes

Language: English


While on patrol on the Atlantic the American destroyer USS Haynes detects a German submarine. The new commander of the ship, Captain Murrell, was transfered here after his previous ship was sunk, thus the crew is skeptical about his abilities to command. But when the enemy is detected Murrell becomes fully oriented on the fight itself. Soon he proves to be equally clever and experienced as the U-Boat commander. The battle of the wits begins.

Classic naval war movie presenting the duel between two seasoned captains - one on the bridge of the detroyer, the other in submerged U-Boat. They both know the strong and weak points of their ships, so who will survive this fight is open question. Very good cast, interesting plot and a lot of scenes filmed on board of actual destroyer - what more do you need to make a great war film?




Our rating

6.4

Film value

8 / 10

Realism factor

4 / 5

Adventure factor

3 / 5

Historical accuracy

1 / 5



The Enemy Below full movie


full movie The Enemy Below full movie
full movie The Enemy Below on DVD


Creators of The Enemy Below

Dick Powell movies

Dick Powell

director


Wendell Mayes movies

Wendell Mayes

screenplay


Denys Arthur Rayner movies


Cast of The Enemy Below

Robert Mitchum movies robert-mitchum

Robert Mitchum

as Captain Murrell


Curd Jurgens movies curd-jurgens

Curd Jurgens

as Von Stolberg


David Hedison movies david-hedison

David Hedison

as Lt. Ware


Theodore Bikel movies theodore-bikel

Theodore Bikel

as Schwaffer


Russell Collins movies russell-collins

Kurt Kreuger movies kurt-kreuger

Kurt Kreuger

as Von Holem


Frank Albertson movies frank-albertson

Frank Albertson

as Lt. Crain


Biff Elliot movies biff-elliot

Biff Elliot

as Quartermaster


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in The Enemy Below

World War II (1936-1945) Battle of the Atlantic (3 Sep 1939)





The Enemy Below war movie © 2013-2017 War Movies Info

Google+ profile war films ww2 movies Kriegsfilme filmy wojenne war movies blog war movies