Escape to Athena war movie
Escape to Athena war movie

Escape to Athena (1979, United Kingdom)

Categories: military base moviespartisans moviesPOW camp moviesraid moviesresistance movies

Running time: 120 minutes

Language: English


Two Americans USO artists arrive to German prisoners of war camp on small Greek island. It isnít typical POW camp - Germans have gathered here people that may help them with their archeological project on the island. The commandant of the camp before war was antiques dealer in Austria and is more interested in his personal gain than keeping the order. The prisoners do have the plan to escape, but contrary to simply escaping from the camp they... plan to break into the military base. One of the elements of story is gold.

British adventure movie set on the Greek islands during World War 2 is far from being realistic (it is as realistic as f.e. Bond movies) and actually it doesnít even seem to try to be realistic. The cast was well chosen, there are several subplots in the movie, but generally it is just adventure movie and as adventure movie it is rather entertaining, but as for war movie it lacks in many elements.




Our rating

4.0

Film value

4 / 10

Realism factor

2 / 5

Adventure factor

3 / 5

Historical accuracy

1 / 5



Escape to Athena full movie


full movie Escape to Athena on DVD
full movie Escape to Athena on BluRay
full movie Escape to Athena full movie


Creators of Escape to Athena

George P. Cosmatos movies

George P. Cosmatos movies

Edward Anhalt movies

Edward Anhalt

screenplay


Richard Lochte movies

Richard Lochte

screenplay



Cast of Escape to Athena

Roger Moore movies roger-moore

Roger Moore

as Major Otto Hecht


Telly Savalas movies telly-savalas

David Niven movies david-niven

David Niven

as Professor Blake


Elliott Gould movies

Elliott Gould

as Charlie Dane


Richard Roundtree movies richard-roundtree

Richard Roundtree

as Nat Judson


Stefanie Powers movies stefanie-powers

Stefanie Powers

as Dottie Del Mar


Sonny Bono movies sonny-bono

Sonny Bono

as Bruno Rotelli


Claudia Cardinale movies claudia-cardinale

Anthony Valentine movies anthony-valentine

Anthony Valentine

as SS Major Volkmann


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in Escape to Athena

World War II (1936-1945)





Escape to Athena war movie © 2013-2017 War Movies Info

Google+ profile war films ww2 movies Kriegsfilme filmy wojenne war movies blog world war 2 movies