The Officer Factory war movie
The Officer Factory war movie

The Officer Factory (1989, Germany)

Original / alternative title: Fabrik der Offiziere

Categories: infantry moviesmilitary base moviesmystery movies

Running time: 365 minutes

Language: German


After problems with his superior on Eastern Front Oberleutnant Karl Krafft is sent back to officer school in Germany. General Modersohn gives him the task of pursuing investigation into death of one of the instructors. The experienced officer died in the explosion during the outdoor lesson on planting explosives. General is not convinced that it was accident and orders Krafft to make discreet snooping.

Miniseries based on Hans Hellmut Kirst and just like his other works (f.e. Night of the Generals) it is almost detective story set in the times of World War 2. Almost whole plot takes place in and around the officer school, which doesnít make this much of a war movie, but again, just like in Night of the Generals, Kirst concentrates more on characters and less on the plot itself. Behind rather simple story film unveil the complicated web of tiny facts from the past of the people involved that made the difference and created who they are today.

It isnít typical war movie - it takes some patience to get through the every day events to get to the bottom of the personalities involved in the investigation, but Kirst made it interesting and rewarding enough to be worth watching. Since he was German officer himself he usually based his novel on his own memories and they give look into state of mind of Germans during World War 2.




Our rating

5.6

Film value

6 / 10

Realism factor

3 / 5

Adventure factor

2 / 5

Historical accuracy

3 / 5



The Officer Factory full movie


full movie The Officer Factory on DVD


Creators of The Officer Factory

Wolf Vollmar movies

Wolf Vollmar

director


Wolf Vollmar movies

Wolf Vollmar

screenplay


Hans Hellmut Kirst movies


Cast of The Officer Factory

Manfred Zapatka movies manfred-zapatka

Manfred Zapatka

as Oberleutnant Karl Krafft


Karl Walter Diess movies karl-walter-diess

Karl Walter Diess

as Hauptmann Feders


Thomas Holtzmann movies thomas-holtzmann

Thomas Holtzmann

as Generalmajor Modersohn


Sigmar Solbach movies sigmar-solbach

Sigmar Solbach

as Hauptmann Ratshelm


Harald Dietl movies harald-dietl

Harald Dietl

as Hauptmann Kater


Christian Rode movies christian-rode

Christian Rode

as Major Frey


Brigitte Karner movies brigitte-karner

Brigitte Karner

as Elfriede Rademacher


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in The Officer Factory

World War II (1936-1945)





The Officer Factory war movie © 2013-2017 War Movies Info

Google+ profile war films ww2 movies Kriegsfilme filmy wojenne war movies blog top 10 war movies