G.I. Jane war movie
G.I. Jane war movie

G.I. Jane (1997, United States)

Categories: commandos moviesmilitary base moviesspecial forces moviesraid movies

Running time: 120 minutes

Language: English


Senator Lillian DeHaven succeeds in enrolling a first woman, Jordan O’Neill, into Combined Reconnaissance Team training, a toughest training there is for special forces soldiers in United States. Jordan is ambitious and wants to prove that she is good enough to compete with men, but the situation quickly becomes a media circus when politicians try to gain points by either supporting the idea or condemn it. Jordan tries to keep away from it and concentrate on the training, especially since even tough male soldiers have problems to keep up with the physical challenges they have to face, but it is hard to completely separate from what is surrounding her. The instructors expect her to fail, senator pushes her to finish the training, but she feels like she is being used to make some political deal while all she wanted to do is prove herself. After tough start she manages to keep up with the rest of candidates and she gains some respect among them, but still it is a beginning of the journey for her.

Despite being directed by Ridley Scott, who is after all one of most respected directors in Hollywood, G.I. Jane is, to put it in a nice way, average movie at best. In fact very average. Some parts of it are pretty good, but at many, many points it sinks into cliches and cheap sentimentality. Actors did their best, but the script for G.I. Jane simply wasn’t good enough to save the whole project. Yes, it shows interesting bits of the training methods, but on the other hand the characters are oversimplified, second part of the movie is unrealistic and the whole thing just seems to be a wasted chance.




Our rating

4.0

Film value

5 / 10

Realism factor

2 / 5

Adventure factor

2 / 5

Historical accuracy

1 / 5



G.I. Jane full movie


full movie G.I. Jane on DVD
full movie G.I. Jane on BluRay


Creators of G.I. Jane

Ridley Scott movies

Ridley Scott

director


Danielle Alexandra movies

David Twohy movies

David Twohy

screenplay



Cast of G.I. Jane

Demi Moore movies demi-moore

Demi Moore

as Jordan O’Neill


Viggo Mortensen movies viggo-mortensen

Viggo Mortensen

as Master Chief Urgayle


Anne Bancroft movies anne-bancroft

Anne Bancroft

as Lillian DeHaven


Jason Beghe movies jason-beghe

Jason Beghe

as Royce


David Vadim movies david-vadim

David Vadim

as Cortez


Josh Hopkins movies josh-hopkins

Morris Chestnut movies morris-chestnut

Jim Caviezel movies jim-caviezel

Jim Caviezel

as Slovnik


Boyd Kestner movies boyd-kestner

Boyd Kestner

as Wickwire


add comment

Comment below