Gettysburg war movie
Gettysburg war movie

Gettysburg (1993, United States)

Categories: artillery moviesbombardment moviesinfantry movies

Running time: 270 minutes

Language: English


Following the streak of wins Confederate general Lee leads his troops on the capitol of Union - Washington DC. Both armies meet near the town of Gettysburg and despite advise from his officers the general, convinced that the Union forces are retreating, decides to attack. Even when early engagements suggest that enemy defence is well prepared Lee orders a massice strike concentrated on a small part of the Union defence line.

Film depicts the turning point of the American Civil War, the battle of Gettysburg, and it is so far the longest American movie ever made with 270 minutes (although another movie made by the same director, Gods nad Generals, in director’s cut version is 280 minutes long). And just like in the case of Gods and Generals the Ronald F. Maxwell has no mercy for the viewers - the film could have and even should have been much shorter. A lot of the scenes (especially long dialogue scenes) are perhaps important from historical point of view, but they are killing the flow of the plot. Also the battle scenes, despite a lot of effort, are not very impressive - often they seem more like one of the reenactments of the battles by history enthusiasts that took place in the States, rather than well planned movie scenes (usually shown from far away, a lot of shooting going on, but almost no casualties).

Comparing to Gods and Generals this movie is somehow too superficial when it comes to the battle scenes and far, far too overloaded with theorethical considerations made by the officers before the battles. It is historically accurate, but fails to keep the viewers involved.




Our rating

6.8

Film value

6 / 10

Realism factor

4 / 5

Adventure factor

2 / 5

Historical accuracy

5 / 5



Gettysburg full movie


full movie Gettysburg on DVD
full movie Gettysburg on BluRay
full movie Gettysburg full movie


Creators of Gettysburg

Ronald F. Maxwell movies

Ronald F. Maxwell movies

Jeff Shaara movies

Jeff Shaara

screenplay



Cast of Gettysburg

Tom Berenger movies tom-berenger

Tom Berenger

as Lt. Gen. James Longstreet


Martin Sheen movies martin-sheen

Martin Sheen

as General Robert E. Lee


Stephen Lang movies stephen-lang

Stephen Lang

as Maj. Gen. George E. Pickett


Jeff Daniels movies jeff-daniels

Jeff Daniels

as Col. Joshua Lawrence Chamberlain


Sam Elliott movies sam-elliott

Sam Elliott

as Brig. Gen. John Buford


C. Thomas Howell movies

C. Thomas Howell

as Lt. Thomas D. Chamberlain


Kevin Conway movies kevin-conway

Kevin Conway

as Sgt. Kilrain


James Patrick Stuart movies james-patrick-stuart

James Patrick Stuart

as Col. E. Porter Alexander


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in Gettysburg

American Civil War (1861-1865) Battle of Gettysburg (1 Jul 1863)