Gladiator war movie
Gladiator war movie

Gladiator (2000, United States)

Categories: infantry movies

Running time: 155 minutes

Language: English


General Maximus Decimus Meridius is leading the Roman legions that are fighting the German tribes at the borders of empire. He uses the advance of artillery to overpower the enemy and leads the attack of cavalry. The victory is his triupmh and Maximus hopes to retire and move back to his homeland, Spain, where he left the wife and kids. But old emperor Marcus Aurelius had different plans towards him - he wants Maximus to become regent in Rome, since the heir to the throne, Commodus, seems to be completely unfit to become wise ruler. On that news Commodus kills his father and plans to revenge on the Maximus - he sends his soldiers to kill Maximusí family in Spain. Maximus himself is captured by the slave traders and sold to Proximo, who decides to turn him into gladiator. Step by step Maximus proves to be one of the best warriors in the whole empire and soon he is brought to Rome, where he will have to fight for his life, while Commodus is watching the games.

Historical drama set in ancient Rome that concetrates on the fate of Maximus and his career as gladiator. Film is full of spectacular scenes, political intrigues and thrilling moments. Only the first part of the movie is actually about war, but the fight scenes during the games ae equally interesting.




Our rating

7.6

Film value

9 / 10

Realism factor

4 / 5

Adventure factor

4 / 5

Historical accuracy

2 / 5



Gladiator full movie


full movie Gladiator full movie
full movie Gladiator on DVD
full movie Gladiator on BluRay


Creators of Gladiator

Ridley Scott movies

Ridley Scott

director


David Franzoni movies

David Franzoni

screenplay


John Logan movies

John Logan

screenplay


William Nicholson movies


Cast of Gladiator

Russell Crowe movies russell-crowe

Russell Crowe

as Maximus Decimus Meridius


Djimon Hounsou movies djimon-hounsou

Joaquin Phoenix movies joaquin-phoenix

Joaquin Phoenix

as Commodus


Connie Nielsen movies connie-nielsen

Connie Nielsen

as Lucilla


Oliver Reed movies oliver-reed

Oliver Reed

as Proximo


Richard Harris movies richard-harris

Richard Harris

as Marcus Aurelius


Derek Jacobi movies derek-jacobi

Derek Jacobi

as Gracchus


David Schofield movies david-schofield

John Shrapnel movies john-shrapnel

add comment

Comment below










Gladiator war movie © 2013-2017 War Movies Info

Google+ profile war films ww2 movies Kriegsfilme filmy wojenne war movies blog spy games