Gods and Generals war movie
Gods and Generals war movie

Gods and Generals (2003, United States)

Categories: artillery moviesinfantry moviesurban warfare movies

Running time: 220 minutes

Language: English


When the American Civil War breaks out the confederate General Thomas Jackson, also known as "Stonewall", and Union Lieutenant Joshua Lawrence Chamberlain take their posts on two sides of the conflict. Their motivations for fight are different, but their skills, determination and experience will be put to the test. Southern forces are preparing their defence lines near the Fredericksburg and awaiting the upcoming attack of Union Army. With good location for his artillery on the hills and the large open space between the town and his lines General Lee is rather sure that this will be a clear victory. On the other side General Burnside knows that there is no way to avoid the confrontation on the inhospitable battleground - they have to cross the river to reach Fredericksburg and later advance towards the Southern units. Even crossing the river turns out to be quite a challenge, but while within town the Union soldiers begin to loot the houses. The second part of the attack is about to begin - the crossing of open fields around Fredericksburg with a small stone wall as vital waypoint. Chamberlain leads an unsuccesful attack on the positions of Jackson, but this is only first of their encounters.

Almost documentary like film telling the stories of the officers on both sided of the civil war, their different goals, different motivations and different background. The strong point of the movie is definately the very realistic depiction of the battles - from planning and preparations to the aftermath. Of course some parts of this production are far too long or redundant, thus the whole movie is about two and a half hours long (full material was supposedly 6 hours long) and this could be one of the reasons why this rather good movie was box office bomb gaining income of less that 30% of the budget. Overall it is good war movie that will keep the viewer interested from the beginning till the end, although if the beginning and end would be closer to each other this would make the film better.




Our rating

8.4

Film value

8 / 10

Realism factor

5 / 5

Adventure factor

3 / 5

Historical accuracy

5 / 5



Gods and Generals full movie


full movie Gods and Generals on DVD
full movie Gods and Generals full movie
full movie Gods and Generals on BluRay


Creators of Gods and Generals

Ronald F. Maxwell movies

Ronald F. Maxwell movies

Jeff Shaara movies

Jeff Shaara

screenplay



Cast of Gods and Generals

Stephen Lang movies stephen-lang

Stephen Lang

as Lt. Gen. Thomas Jackson


Robert Duvall movies robert-duvall

Robert Duvall

as General Robert E. Lee


Jeff Daniels movies jeff-daniels

Jeff Daniels

as Lt. Col. Joshua Lawrence Chamberlain


Kevin Conway movies kevin-conway

Kevin Conway

as Sgt. Buster Kilrain


C. Thomas Howell movies

C. Thomas Howell

as Sgt. Thomas Chamberlain


Brian Mallon movies brian-mallon

Brian Mallon

as Maj. Gen. Winfield Scott Hancock


Matt Letscher movies matt-letscher

Matt Letscher

as Col. Adelbert Ames


Billy Campbell movies billy-campbell

Billy Campbell

as Maj. Gen. George Pickett


James Patrick Stuart movies james-patrick-stuart

James Patrick Stuart

as Col. Edward Porter Alexander


Frankie Faison movies frankie-faison

Frankie Faison

as Jim Lewis


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in Gods and Generals

American Civil War (1861-1865) First Battle of Bull Run (21 Jul 1861) Battle of Fredericksburg (11 Dec 1862) Battle of Chancellorsville (30 Apr 1863)





Gods and Generals war movie © 2013-2017 War Movies Info

Google+ profile war films ww2 movies Kriegsfilme filmy wojenne war movies blog Wings of Prey