Hartís War war movie
Hartís War war movie

Hartís War (2002, United States)

Categories: concentration camp moviescourtroom moviesinfantry moviesmystery moviesPOW camp movieswinter movies

Running time: 125 minutes

Language: English / German


Lieutenant Hart is captured by Germans during the Battle of the Bulge and after interrogation is sent to prisoners of war camp. Colonel McNamara, most senior officer in the camp, treats him with distance and acts suspiciously. When black pilots arrive in the camp they create quite disturbance among the white soldiers, who refuse to treat them according to their rank. But soon they face a diffrent problem when murder takes place in the camp. Hart, who used to study law, is put in charge of the defence. The strange game begins between Hart, McNamara and the camp commandant Visser.

Courtroom drama set in the prisoners of war camp during the war was interesting idea (although the creators didnít miss the chance to use all the cliches about courtroom dramas there are). The setting, the plot, the cast - Hartís War had everything to be a huge success. Unfortunately the final effect is a bit let down - beside mentioned cliches from courtroom dramas we also have cliches from prisoners of war movies, cliches about racism in the army and cliches from war movies (theatrical saluting on every occassion). Cast was good, although they gave rather average performances, which leads the whole movie to inevitable average rating. Which is a shame, because it had the potential to be very good war movie.




Our rating

4.8

Film value

6 / 10

Realism factor

2 / 5

Adventure factor

2 / 5

Historical accuracy

2 / 5



Hartís War full movie


full movie Hartís War on DVD
full movie Hartís War on BluRay
full movie Hartís War full movie


Creators of Hartís War

Gregory Hoblit movies

John Katzenbach movies

John Katzenbach

screenplay


Billy Ray movies

Billy Ray

screenplay


Terry George movies

Terry George

screenplay



Cast of Hartís War

Colin Farrell movies colin-farrell

Colin Farrell

as Lieutenant Hart


Bruce Willis movies bruce-willis

Bruce Willis

as Colonel McNamara


Marcel Iures movies marcel-iures

Marcel Iures

as Colonel Visser


Terrence Howard movies terrence-howard

Terrence Howard

as Lieutenant Scott


Cole Hauser movies cole-hauser

Cole Hauser

as Sergeant Bedford


Scott Michael Campbell movies scott-michael-campbell

Scott Michael Campbell

as Corporal Cromin


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in Hartís War

World War II (1936-1945) Battle of the Bulge (16 Dec 1944)