Hotel Rwanda war movie
Hotel Rwanda war movie

Hotel Rwanda (2004, United Kingdom)

Categories: political moviesurban warfare movies

Running time: 120 minutes

Language: English

Locations:
the story takes place in KigaliKigaliRwanda



During the civil war in Rwanda in the capital city, Kigali, life seems to be running the usual way, tourists still are coming to stay in the luxury hotels, the merchants are making money providing them with imported food and drinks, but there is something in the air. Since the raids of Rwandan Patriotic Front has began the army is providing weapons and training to the Hutu militias. Paul Rusesabagina, manager of Belgian owned hotel, tries to stay away from the politics, but with each day the tension between Hutu and Tutsi arises. Although he is Hutu, he tries to have good relationships with both sides, providing expensive alcohol to generals visiting his hotel, at the same time avoiding declaring himself as the Hutu militias supporter. One of his providers tells him about final extermination of the Tutsi being prepared by the militia and when he will hear the radio message "cut down the tall trees" he should join the Hutu. Paul is stunned to learn that someone he knew is such extremist, but just hours later the tension on the streets turns into violence. When the president of the country is killed Paul hears the "cut down the tall trees" message and has to rush home and protect his wife, who is Tutsi.

War movie based on true story of Paul Rusesabagina, who during the Rwandan genocide had to change from being hotel manager to become a last hope for the Tutsi seeking refuge in Kigali. When the Hutu militiamen were terrorizing the city and killing any Tutsi people, no matter young old, men or women, inside the hotel walls Paul Rusesabagina was trying to save the people, who were seeking refuge there. A very moving film showing how in the face of horror surrounding us we can still remain human beings.




Our rating

7.6

Film value

7 / 10

Realism factor

4 / 5

Adventure factor

3 / 5

Historical accuracy

5 / 5



Hotel Rwanda full movie


full movie Hotel Rwanda on DVD
full movie Hotel Rwanda read online


Hotel Rwanda videos


Hotel Rwanda




Creators of Hotel Rwanda

Terry George movies

Terry George

director


Terry George movies

Terry George

screenplay


Keir Pearson movies

Keir Pearson

screenplay



Cast of Hotel Rwanda

Don Cheadle movies don-cheadle

Don Cheadle

as Paul Rusesabagina


Nick Nolte movies nick-nolte

Nick Nolte

as Colonel Oliver


Sophie Okonedo movies sophie-okonedo

Sophie Okonedo

as Tatiana Rusesabagina


Joaquin Phoenix movies joaquin-phoenix

Joaquin Phoenix

as Jack Daglish


Fana Mokoena movies fana-mokoena

Fana Mokoena

as General Augustin Bizimungu


Hakeem Kae-Kazim movies hakeem-kae-kazim

Hakeem Kae-Kazim

as Georges Rutaganda


Jean Reno movies jean-reno

Jean Reno

as Tillens


Desmond Dube movies desmond-dube

add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in Hotel Rwanda

Rwandan Civil War (1990-1994)







Hotel Rwanda quotes


Paul Rusesabagina:
What are you going to do - shoot me? Shoot me. I would pay you to shoot my family! I would consider it a blessing!


Paul Rusesabagina:
I am glad that you have shot this footage and that the world will see it. It is the only way we have a chance that people might intervene.
Jack Daglish:
Yeah and if no one intervenes, is it still a good thing to show?
Paul Rusesabagina:
How can they not intervene when they witness such atrocities?
Jack:
I think if people see this footage they’ll say, "oh my God that’s horrible," and then go on eating their dinners.


Hotel Rwanda war movie © 2013-2017 War Movies Info

Google+ profile war films ww2 movies Kriegsfilme filmy wojenne war movies blog castle movies