Days of Glory war movie
Days of Glory war movie

Days of Glory (2006, France)

Original / alternative title: Indigenes

Categories: desert moviesinfantry moviesurban warfare movies

Running time: 128 minutes

Language: French


In 1943 French First Army was being reactivated in Northern Africa as part of the preparations of Free French Forces to liberate their homeland. Many of the rectuits were the indigenes, the local African residents of French colonies such as Algieria, Chad, Morocco or Tunisia. Four Algerians - Said, Yassir, Messaoud and Abdelkader - join the regiment with completely different hopes and dreams. Equipped with Lend-Lease American uniforms and weapons they start their basic training under the command of Sergeant Martinez. On one hand they feel proud to serve their homeland, but as they soon will find out they are not the favorite children of their fatherland - in first battle in Italy they are given the order to attack the German lines under the heavy bombardment. With heavy casualties they begin to realize they were just cannon fodder for the more valuable units formed of white French. Soon they are transfered to France, where attached to American forces they will liberate their country, but on each step they are remembered that they are not "real" French. They have to face not only the Nazi Germans, but also the segregation, racism and humiliations in French army.

Film made as a tribute to the colonial soldiers within Free French Forces, who fought side by side with the white Frenchmen, but never were treated as equals, even after the war. With interesting cast and story presenting not well known facts from World War 2 it could have been a good war movie. But since the creators kept the story close to the historical facts unfortunately the film is only average production, mostly because the Free French Forces played only marginal role in the whole war. We see more of the hostility within the French Army than actual battle scenes.

It is one of those war movies that has something important to tell, but in the process of making people aware of the facts the story-telling part seems to be missing, or rather it is presents in such way that itís hard to get involved in the story itself.




Our rating

6.4

Film value

6 / 10

Realism factor

4 / 5

Adventure factor

3 / 5

Historical accuracy

3 / 5



Days of Glory full movie


full movie Days of Glory on DVD
full movie Days of Glory on BluRay
full movie Days of Glory full movie


Creators of Days of Glory

Rachid Bouchareb movies

Rachid Bouchareb movies

Olivier Lorelle movies

Olivier Lorelle

screenplay



Cast of Days of Glory

Jamel Debbouze movies jamel-debbouze

Jamel Debbouze

as Saïd Otmari


Samy Naceri movies samy-naceri

Samy Naceri

as Yassir


Roschdy Zem movies roschdy-zem

Roschdy Zem

as Messaoud Souni


Sami Bouajila movies sami-bouajila

Sami Bouajila

as Abdelkader


Bernard Blancan movies bernard-blancan

Bernard Blancan

as Sergent Roger Martinez


Mathieu Simonet movies mathieu-simonet

Mathieu Simonet

as Caporal Leroux


Assaad Bouab movies assaad-bouab

Assaad Bouab

as Larbi


Benoit Giros movies benoit-giros

Benoit Giros

as Capitaine Durieux


Melanie Laurent movies melanie-laurent

Melanie Laurent

as Margueritte


Antoine Chappey movies antoine-chappey

Antoine Chappey

as Colonel


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in Days of Glory

World War II (1936-1945) Operation Dragoon (15 Aug 1944)





Days of Glory war movie © 2013-2017 War Movies Info

Google+ profile war films ww2 movies Kriegsfilme filmy wojenne war movies blog World War II