Inglourious Basterds war movie
Inglourious Basterds war movie

Inglourious Basterds (2009, United States)

Categories: infantry moviesresistance movies

Running time: 150 minutes

Language: German / English / French


Secret group of soldiers, called Inglourious Basterds, operating as commando behind enemy lines, attack and kill German officers wherever and whenever they can. Their fame, or rather infamy, is spread among the Germans that try to locate and kill them, especially since Basterds murder the Nazi soldiers in barbaric ways, even scalp some of them. Nazis plan to organize official premiere of new movie "Pride of the Nation", in one of the Paris cinemas. Film glorifies their brave soldiers and this is perfect opportunity for Lieutenant Aldo Raine and his basterds to strike when many officers will be gathered in one building.

Just like with other Tarantino movies you could expect Inglourious Basterds to be action flick rather than actual war movie. And it isnít far from the truth if there would be actual action in this movie. There are dialogues, long dialogues, very long dialogues, very very long dialogues and few almost decent scenes that were ruined by Tarantinoís fascination in senseless violence. What a pity he isnít fascinated by interesting stories or building characters.

It is over 2 hours of dialogues and monologues with underlining of rather poor over-the-top acting (especially surprising from Brad Pitt), straight-from-comic-book characters and plot that could last about 15-20 minutes if the boring bits would be cut out. Italian war movies from 1970s and 1980s had the same level of truth, realism and acting, but obviously without name Tarantino in credits they were class B flicks, while this is considered a masterpiece... Strange world we live in.




Our rating

3.2

Film value

3 / 10

Realism factor

1 / 5

Adventure factor

3 / 5

Historical accuracy

1 / 5



Inglourious Basterds full movie


full movie Inglourious Basterds full movie
full movie Inglourious Basterds on DVD
full movie Inglourious Basterds on BluRay


Creators of Inglourious Basterds

Quentin Tarantino movies

Quentin Tarantino movies


Cast of Inglourious Basterds

Brad Pitt movies

Brad Pitt

as Aldo Raine


Melanie Laurent movies melanie-laurent

Melanie Laurent

as Shosanna


Christoph Waltz movies christoph-waltz

Christoph Waltz

as Colonel Landa


Michael Fassbender movies michael-fassbender

Diane Kruger movies diane-kruger

Diane Kruger

as Bridget von Hammersmark


Daniel Bruhl movies daniel-bruhl

Daniel Bruhl

as Fredrick Zoller


Til Schweiger movies

Til Schweiger

as Stiglitz


Richard Sammel movies richard-sammel

Richard Sammel

as Sgt. Rachtman


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in Inglourious Basterds

World War II (1936-1945)





Inglourious Basterds war movie © 2013-2017 War Movies Info

Google+ profile war films ww2 movies Kriegsfilme filmy wojenne war movies blog Austrian war movies