War movies

War movies often show the worts times in the history of human kind, but even in those times the humanity sometimes was able to overcome to gore and horror. The war brings the worst sides of human nature, but at the same time can show the best sides of people. As many veterans of war say they often are not hurt phisically, but the damages that were done to their souls cannot be repaired.


Assassination of Archduke Franz Ferdinand

Assassination of Archduke Franz Ferdinand

103 years ago on 28 June 1914 Assassination of Archduke Franz Ferdinand took place. The assasination that took place in Sarajevo and triggered one of the most horrifying wars in history - the World War I.


Napoleonic Wars1803-1815American Civil War1861-1865World War I1914-1918World War II1936-1945Korean War1950-1953Cold War1953-1991Vietnam War1955-1975Gulf War1990-1991Iraq War2003-2011aircraft moviesambush moviesbombardment moviescavalry moviescommandos moviescovert operations moviesdesert moviesinfantry moviesjungle moviesknights movieslanding movieslast stand moviesmilitary base moviesnavy moviespartisans moviespolitical moviesPOW camp moviesraid moviesreconnaissance moviesresistance moviessiege moviesspecial forces moviesspy moviessubmarine moviestrenches moviesurban warfare movieswinter movies American war moviesBritish war moviesPolish war moviesGerman war moviesFrench war moviesItalian war moviesRussian war moviesAustralian war movies World War 1 war games World War 2 war games Vietnam War games other war games tanks guide warships guide warplanes guide

XCOM Franchise Pack

XCOM Franchise Pack

Fall of the New Age Premium Edition

Fall of the New Age Premium Edition
6.99 Euro

Ironclad war movie
Ironclad war movie
Ironclad war movie
Ironclad war movie
Ironclad war movie
Ironclad war movie
Ironclad war movie
Ironclad war movie
Ironclad war movie
Ironclad war movie

Ironclad war movie

2011

Ironclad (2011, United Kingdom)

Categories: knights moviesfortress moviescastle moviesmercenaries moviesbombardment moviespolitical movies



Running time: 120 minutes

Language: English


In 1215 tensions between King John Lackland and the nobles lead some of the barons and landowners to revolt against the king’s rule. They demanded reform that would pass some of the power to them, but King John was not taking it well. The negotiations ended when king have signed the Magna Carta political reform that seemed to resolve the conflict, but it was just an illusion. Soon after King John hired Danish mercenaries and went after the barons that forced him to sign Magna Carta. Baron William d’Aubigny decided it is time to move to an open revolt against the king and gathered a small team of veteran warriors to make a first step and take over strategic Rochester Castle that holds the only road between Dover and London. Taking over the castle was easy, but King John was already on the way to put on a fight. When he arrived with a thousand of his Danish troops it was obvious that d’Aubigny has no chance to win in a battle having only about 20 people and thick stone walls at his disposal. Soon the siege begins...

British war movie based on the true events of Rochester Castle siege in 1215, or rather inspired by them since the screenplay has very little to do with historical facts. With impressive cast, that included Brian Cox, Derek Jacobi and Paul Giamatti, and main motif of castle siege Ironclad seemed like a potential great war movie, but from the beginning it seems like the creators fail to find the budget for their production, not to mention that the screenplay is rather peculiar to put it mildly. Jonathan English decided not to keep close to historical facts (f.e. in reality there were about 100 defenders of the castle, not 20), but also put a lot of different bits into one, slightly incoherent, storyline - we have here romance, bromance, politics, religion, Knights Templar, medieval Rambo-style warrior and cartoonish characters. All of it would be fine if the movie had a point to make, but it is hard to spot what was the point. That evil kings will be punished? That Templar knights were the best? That chicks dig scars? It was nice to see war movie about medieval times (something that was rare in recent years), but overall the chance was wasted on adventure flick that has very little to do with historical events.


Our rating

4.8 / 10


Film value

5 / 10


Realism factor

2 / 5


Adventure factor

3 / 5


Historical accuracy factor

2 / 5



Ironclad full movie


full movie Ironclad on DVDfull movie Ironclad full movie


Ironclad videos


Ironclad




add comment

Comment below







Creators of Ironclad


Cast of Ironclad

James Purefoy movies james-purefoy
as Thomas Marshal

Kate Mara movies kate-mara
as Lady Isabel

Brian Cox movies brian-cox
as Baron William d’Aubigny

Paul Giamatti movies paul-giamatti
as King John

Aneurin Barnard movies aneurin-barnard
as Guy the Squire

Derek Jacobi movies derek-jacobi
as Baron Reginald de Cornhill

Jason Flemyng movies jason-flemyng
as Gil Becket

Rhys Parry Jones movies rhys-parry-jones
as Joseph Wulfstan

Jamie Foreman movies jamie-foreman
as Jedediah Coteral

Mackenzie Crook movies mackenzie-crook
as Daniel Marks

Vladimir Kulich movies vladimir-kulich
as Captain Tiberius

Charles Dance movies charles-dance
as Archbishop Langton

Guy Siner movies guy-siner
as Oaks


Events depicted in Ironclad

First Barons’ War (1215-1217) Siege of Rochester (19 Jun 1215)




Ironclad trivia


Real siege of Rochester
Movie is very loosely based on the real siege of Rochester - apart from number of defenders (at least 100, not only 20), also the order of events is made up (in real life it was firstly the retreat to the keep, later long siege of that keep), outcome of the battle (in reality the defenders surrendered) and the relief party (French forces reached Rochester months after the battle, but there was a group of knights approaching from London).


Danish mercenaries
The story of Danish mercenaries fighting for the favor of their country is completely made up - at that point in history Denmark was already a Christian country, so their motivation made no sense. The real mercenaries that were brought by King John were most likely French or Flemish (from regions of today’s France or Belgium).