How I Unleashed World War II war movie
How I Unleashed World War II war movie

How I Unleashed World War II (1970, Poland)

Original / alternative title: Jak rozpetalem druga wojne swiatowa

Categories: desert moviesinfantry moviesnavy moviespartisans moviesPOW camp movies

Running time: 220 minutes

Language: Polish / German / English / Italian / French / Serbo-Croatian


Comedy miniseries set during the World War 2 and presenting the adventures of Polish infantryman Franek Dolas as he... starts the war actually. During the tension between Poland and Germany in 1939 his unit was put on train and sent near the German border. Unfortunately he fell asleep and woke up in the middle of the night on some train station, where he was astonished to meet German soldiers. He fired in the air and seconds later the war started. Of course it is completely fictional story separated into 3 episodes during which Dolas runs away from POW camp hoping to join Polish forces in Western Europe. Instead he ends up on Yugoslavian merchant ship, joins French Foreign Legion, fights with British army in Northern Africa and comes back to Poland.

Despite being just an adventure comedy set during the war the miniseries is great fun to watch. There arenít many realistic elements in it (afterall it is comedy) and often just stereotypes are used for different nationalities taking part in war.




Our rating

6.0

Film value

8 / 10

Realism factor

1 / 5

Adventure factor

5 / 5

Historical accuracy

1 / 5



How I Unleashed World War II full movie


full movie How I Unleashed World War II on DVD
full movie How I Unleashed World War II on DVD


Creators of How I Unleashed World War II

Tadeusz Chmielewski movies

Tadeusz Chmielewski movies

Kazimierz Slawinski movies


Cast of How I Unleashed World War II

Marian Kociniak movies marian-kociniak

Marian Kociniak

as Franek Dolas


Wirgiliusz Gryn movies wirgiliusz-gryn

Wirgiliusz Gryn

as Jozek Kryska


Stanislaw Milski movies stanislaw-milski

Stanislaw Milski

as German general


Emil Karewicz movies emil-karewicz

Emil Karewicz

as Gestapo officer


Piotr Fronczewski movies piotr-fronczewski

Piotr Fronczewski

as Italian soldier


Waclaw Kowalski movies waclaw-kowalski

Waclaw Kowalski

as Kiedros, sergeant in French Foreign Legion


Leonard Pietraszak movies leonard-pietraszak

Leonard Pietraszak

as airman in stalag


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in How I Unleashed World War II

World War II (1936-1945) Invasion of Poland (1 Sep 1939)





How I Unleashed World War II war movie © 2013-2017 War Movies Info

Google+ profile war films ww2 movies Kriegsfilme filmy wojenne war movies blog top 10 war movies