Jarhead war movie
Jarhead war movie

Jarhead (2005, United States)

Categories: desert moviesinfantry moviesmilitary base movies

Running time: 125 minutes

Language: English


Anthony Swofford joins US Marines and starts the basic military training and later takes the Scout Sniper course. His unit is about to be sent abroad to Persian Gulf region that recently became the point of interest for the whole world. In 1990, after the invasion on Kuwait, Swofford is among the troops that are located next to Iraqi border in preparations to the Desert Storm Operation, one of the first wars that will get the extensive TV coverage. But the conflict seen on TV is completely different from the experience of the soldiers involved. For them every day near the Iraqi border is fulled with boredom, drills and yearning to either return home or go into the fight.

Film presents the everyday life of US Marines on the desert just waiting for the Iraqi operation to start. They are bored, they have no idea what to expect from the conflict (if there will be one) except that they will win quickly. But weeks go by and they are still in the same place, doing the same things they did last week. When the operation actually starts they feel tired and depressed.

Jarhead is based on a book written by veteran of Desert Storm and concentrates rather on the state of mind of average marine than the conflict itself or the political background. On one hand itís a good thing, because we see what we couldnít see on TV during the war, but on the other hand the film is average at best - the anecdotes from the lives of marines in Middle East arenít that interesting. The war itself is shown in just a short sequence and even though it is rather realistic image still itís hard to get excited about this movie. People often say "this story would make a great movie", but story of Anthony Swofford obviously wouldnít and Jarhead is the best proof.




Our rating

5.2

Film value

4 / 10

Realism factor

4 / 5

Adventure factor

1 / 5

Historical accuracy

4 / 5



Jarhead full movie


full movie Jarhead full movie
full movie Jarhead on DVD
full movie Jarhead on BluRay


Creators of Jarhead

Sam Mendes movies

Sam Mendes

director


William Broyles Jr. movies

Anthony Swofford movies


Cast of Jarhead

Jake Gyllenhaal movies jake-gyllenhaal

Jake Gyllenhaal

as Anthony Swofford


Peter Sarsgaard movies peter-sarsgaard

Peter Sarsgaard

as Alan Troy


Jamie Foxx movies jamie-foxx

Jamie Foxx

as Sergeant Sykes


Brian Geraghty movies brian-geraghty

Brian Geraghty

as Fergus OíDonnell


Jacob Vargas movies jacob-vargas

Jacob Vargas

as Juan Cortez


Laz Alonso movies laz-alonso

Laz Alonso

as Ramon Escobar


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in Jarhead

Gulf War (1990-1991)