John Rambo war movie
John Rambo war movie

John Rambo (2008, United States)

Original / alternative title: Rambo

Categories: commandos moviesjungle moviesmercenaries movies

Running time: 90 minutes

Language: English / Burmese


In 2007, during the political protests in Burma brutally suppressed by the General Than Shwe regime, ex-Vietnam war veteran John Rambo lives in a small village near the Burmese border. His past as commandos seems to be an ancient history - he supports himself by catching the dangerous snakes and transporting people on his boat. Two missionaries, Michael and Sarah, approach him and ask if he could take them up the Salween River to Burma on a humanitarian mission to help local tribes. Rambo realizes they are not ready to face the dangers that await them in Burma and refuses, but Sarah manages to make him change his mind. During the travel to Salween River boat is stopped by Burmese pirates, who demand Sarah in exchange for passage. Since the situation is about to get out of hand Rambo kills the pirates. Even though John saved lives of the missionaries, Michael is shocked and upon arrival decides they will not return with Rambo by the boat, they will travel overland. When they fail to return after ten days it is obvious that they were kidnapped by the army that attacked the village where they were staying. Rambo is asked by the pastor that helped the missionaries to hire mercenaries, who will try to rescue them, but soon John realizes he canít be only an observer during that mission.

Fourth, and hopefully last, movie telling the story of John Rambo, the Vietnam war veteran mistreated in his fatherland, but using his amazing skills he learned in special forces to deal with the enemies as single person war machine. This movies was directed and co-written by Sylvester Stallone, the star of the movies. Just like the Rocky Balboa movie from 2006, it was devised as sort of closure for the series, but just like Rocky Balboa it wasnít a good idea. From the beginning John Rambo looks like cheesy 1980s action flick, there were some attempts to add some depth to the characters or the story, but they failed miserably. The movie could be descibed in one sentence - "Johnny got his machine gun", because the key scene in the movie is just long and senseless shoot-out in which Rambo chops to pieces half of the battalion. Overall completely unnecessary project that was suppose to be a closure, but turned out to be a flop even comapring to two previous movies in the series that were rather poor themselves.




Our rating

4.8

Film value

4 / 10

Realism factor

2 / 5

Adventure factor

3 / 5

Historical accuracy

3 / 5



John Rambo full movie


full movie John Rambo on DVD
full movie John Rambo on BluRay
full movie John Rambo full movie


Creators of John Rambo

Sylvester Stallone movies

Art Monterastelli movies

Sylvester Stallone movies


Cast of John Rambo

Sylvester Stallone movies

Sylvester Stallone

as John Rambo


Julie Benz movies julie-benz

Julie Benz

as Sarah


Paul Schulze movies paul-schulze

Paul Schulze

as Michael Burnett


Maung Maung Khin movies maung-maung-khin

Tim Kang movies tim-kang

Tim Kang

as En-Joo


Graham McTavish movies graham-mctavish

Matthew Marsden movies matthew-marsden

Matthew Marsden

as School Boy


Reynaldo Gallegos movies reynaldo-gallegos

Jake La Botz movies jake-la-botz

Jake La Botz

as Reese


add comment

Comment below