Stones for the Rampart war movie
Stones for the Rampart war movie

Stones for the Rampart (2014, Poland)

Original / alternative title: Kamienie na szaniec

Categories: resistance movies

Running time: 110 minutes

Language: Polish / German

Locations:
the story takes place in WarsawMasoviaPoland



During World War 2 Polish teenagers from scout organisations join the Gray Ranks (Szare Szeregi) of the Home Army (Armia Krajowa) resistance units. Since they are young their only assignments are simple operations like painting patriotic slogans on the walls, throwing teargas bombs into cinemas or taking down German flags. But everything changes when one of them, Rudy, is arrested and taken to the Gestapo headquarters in Warsaw. Using all the methods they know (which were fear, torture and endless beatings) the Germans try to get the names of the underground organisation members out of him. Rudy is tough, he feeds them only with names of the people that are already dead, but with each day his health deteriorates. His friend, Zoska, tries to force the Home Army to help him prepare action in which they could free Rudy, but the officers see that Gray Ranks are too inexperienced and too poorly armed to carry out such task. Also they see no point in putting in danger a lot of civilians to free just one man, but Zoska is determined to help his friend, so he prepares a plan to attack the truck in which Rudy will be transported for interrogation.

Another film based on famous 1943 Operation Arsenal in which teenage resistance fighters attacked the guarded transport truck trying to free their friend Rudy. This time the creators recreated the story that, in their opinion, would appeal to younger generations, but while they used modern music, more edgy script and gave the fighters more badass outlook they completely lost the realism factor - it seems more like action movie than war movie based on facts.




Our rating

6.4

Film value

6 / 10

Realism factor

3 / 5

Adventure factor

3 / 5

Historical accuracy

4 / 5



Stones for the Rampart full movie


full movie Stones for the Rampart on DVD


Creators of Stones for the Rampart

Robert Glinski movies

Wojtek Palys movies

Wojtek Palys

screenplay


Dominik Wieczorkowski-Rettinger movies


Cast of Stones for the Rampart

Tomasz Zietek movies tomasz-zietek

Marcel Sabat movies marcel-sabat

Marcel Sabat

as Zoska


Kamil Szeptycki movies kamil-szeptycki

Magdalena Kolesnik movies magdalena-kolesnik

Sandra Staniszewska movies sandra-staniszewska

Wojciech Zielinski movies wojciech-zielinski

Andrzej Chyra movies andrzej-chyra

Andrzej Chyra

as Jan Kiwerski


Krzysztof Globisz movies krzysztof-globisz

Krzysztof Globisz

as Jozef Zawadzki


Wolfgang Boos movies wolfgang-boos

Wolfgang Boos

as Rottenführer Lange


Hans Heiko Raulin movies hans-heiko-raulin

Hans Heiko Raulin

as Oberscharführer Schutlz


Artur Zmijewski movies artur-zmijewski

Artur Zmijewski

as Stanislaw Bytnar


Danuta Stenka movies danuta-stenka

Danuta Stenka

as Zdzislawa Bytnarowa


Olgierd Lukaszewicz movies olgierd-lukaszewicz

Olgierd Lukaszewicz

as Dr. Trojanowski


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in Stones for the Rampart

World War II (1936-1945)