Canal war movie
Canal war movie

Canal (1957, Poland)

Original / alternative title: Kanał

Categories: partisans moviesresistance moviesurban warfare movies

Running time: 90 minutes

Language: Polish / German

Locations:
the story takes place in WarsawMasoviaPoland



After almost 60 days of heavy fights against Germans in besieged Warsaw Polish insurgents’ supplies are running low. They have suffered heavy losses in men and weapons, Germans are closing the circle with help of flame throwers, Stuka bombers and Goliath mines. The insurgents need to relocate to other part of the city in order to avoid total annihilation. The only way to do it in demolished city is to go down the labyrinth of sewer system so far used only to deliver messages.

Very realistic and powerful portrait of Polish insurgents during the Warsaw Uprising. It shows the fall of uprising when insurgents were pushed to tiny part of the city and had to find a way out just to survive. The script was written by a survivor of such journey through sewers. Of course, as in most of Wajda’s movies, there are some parts of the movie that could be hard to understand for someone who doesn’t know much about Warsaw or the uprising.




Our rating

8.0

Film value

7 / 10

Realism factor

5 / 5

Adventure factor

3 / 5

Historical accuracy

5 / 5



Canal full movie


full movie Canal on DVD
full movie Canal full movie


Creators of Canal

Andrzej Wajda movies

Jerzy Stefan Stawinski movies


Cast of Canal

Wienczyslaw Glinski movies wienczyslaw-glinski

Emil Karewicz movies emil-karewicz

Stanislaw Mikulski movies stanislaw-mikulski

Teresa Izewska movies teresa-izewska

Teresa Izewska

as Stokrotka


Tadeusz Janczar movies tadeusz-janczar

Tadeusz Gwiazdowski movies tadeusz-gwiazdowski

Vladek Sheybal movies vladek-sheybal

Vladek Sheybal

as Ogromny


Teresa Berezowska movies teresa-berezowska

add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in Canal

World War II (1936-1945) Warsaw Uprising (1 Aug 1944)