Legionnaire war movie
Legionnaire war movie

Legionnaire (1998, United States)

Categories: ambush moviesbombardment moviesdesert moviesfortress moviesinfantry movieslast stand moviessiege movies

Running time: 100 minutes

Language: English


Boxer Alain Lefevre gets in trouble with the local mobster in Marseille - he was paid to take a dive in the fight, but instead he won, hoping to run away to America with the mobsterís girlfriend Katrina. When his plan fails he joins the French Foreign Legion and travels to North Africa, where the French are involved in fighting the Berber rebellion. From the beginning all new recruits are warned that the Berbers are ruthless and it is better to leave last bullet for themselves than being taken prisoner. Lefevre befriends few of the recruits, ex-British army officer Mackintosh, Italian Guido, American Luther, who escaped from racism in United States. Soon they are sent to the secluded fort, where last of the French Foreign Legion soldiers are defending the outpost. Soon they will learn that war on the desert is hard to survive.

Some of the viewers might be put off by the fact that Legionnaire is not only starring Jean-Claude Van Damme, but also he was involved in writing the script. Afterall he often chose really poor projects to be involved in, but Legionnaire is actually quite decent production presenting the Second Moroccan War and the French interventino to keep this part of Northern Africa their colony. Decent acting, good cast, good script (at least the second part) - overall good job.




Our rating

7.2

Film value

8 / 10

Realism factor

4 / 5

Adventure factor

3 / 5

Historical accuracy

3 / 5



Legionnaire full movie


full movie Legionnaire on DVD
full movie Legionnaire on BluRay


Creators of Legionnaire

Peter MacDonald movies

Sheldon Lettich movies

Sheldon Lettich

screenplay


Jean-Claude Van Damme movies

Rebecca Morrison movies


Cast of Legionnaire

Jean-Claude Van Damme movies jean-claude-van-damme

Jean-Claude Van Damme

as Alain Lefevre


Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje movies adewale-akinnuoye-agbaje

Steven Berkoff movies steven-berkoff

Steven Berkoff

as Sgt. Steinkampf


Nicholas Farrell movies nicholas-farrell

Nicholas Farrell

as Mackintosh


Daniel Caltagirone movies daniel-caltagirone

Daniel Caltagirone

as Guido Rosetti


Jim Carter movies jim-carter

Jim Carter

as Lucien Galgani


Ana Sofrenovic movies ana-sofrenovic

Ana Sofrenovic

as Katrina


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in Legionnaire

Second Moroccan War (1920-1926)