Lifeboat war movie
Lifeboat war movie

Lifeboat (1944, United States)

Categories: navy movies

Running time: 95 minutes

Language: English / German


Atlantic Ocean during the World War 2. After their ship was torpedoed by the U-boat group of passengers climb aboard the lifeboat. After a while they realize that one of them is a captain of the U-boat that attacked them. Nevertheless they all have to find the way to survive in the middle of the ocean.

Fine example of Alfred Hitchcock’s style - tension between characters, confined space that doesn’t give any chance for a little privacy and death of starvation a real possibility - all of this makes the atmosphere overwhelming. Of course Lifeboat isn’t typical war movie - not like f.e. Saving Private Ryan or The Longest Day - but the emotions and influence that the war had on people are more than real.




Our rating

6.0

Film value

9 / 10

Realism factor

4 / 5

Adventure factor

1 / 5

Historical accuracy

1 / 5



Lifeboat full movie


full movie Lifeboat on DVD
full movie Lifeboat on BluRay
full movie Lifeboat full movie


Creators of Lifeboat

Alfred Hitchcock movies

John Steinbeck movies

John Steinbeck

screenplay


Jo Swerling movies

Jo Swerling

screenplay



Cast of Lifeboat

Henry Hull movies henry-hull

Henry Hull

as Charles Rittenhouse


Tallulah Bankhead movies tallulah-bankhead

Tallulah Bankhead

as Constance Porter


John Hodiak movies john-hodiak

John Hodiak

as John Kovac


Walter Slezak movies walter-slezak

Michael Anderson movies michael-anderson

Michael Anderson

as Alice MacKenzie


William Bendix movies william-bendix

William Bendix

as Gus Smith


Hume Cronyn movies hume-cronyn

Hume Cronyn

as Stanley Garett


Canada Lee movies canada-lee

Canada Lee

as George Spencer


Heather Angel movies heather-angel

Heather Angel

as Mrs. Higgins


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in Lifeboat

World War II (1936-1945) Battle of the Atlantic (3 Sep 1939)