Lorelei: The Witch of the Pacific Ocean war movie
Lorelei: The Witch of the Pacific Ocean war movie
Lorelei: The Witch of the Pacific Ocean war movie

Lorelei: The Witch of the Pacific Ocean (2005, Japan)

Categories: navy moviesscience fiction moviessubmarine movies

Running time: 125 minutes

Language: Japanese / English


In 1945 the defeat of Japan seemed inevitable even for the most optimistic Japanese officers, especially since the first atomic bomb was dropped on Hiroshima. Captain Shinichi is called to the headquarters and learns his new assignment - he is about to take charge of I-507, the new submarine that was delivered from Nazi Germany. The ship is equipped with experimental German sonar called Lorelei. The Japanese have just learned that USS Indianapolis, that brought the atomic bomb dropped on Hiroshima, was sunk by their navy just few days after making the delivery. I-507 is sent to the area hoping to prevent any further bombs being delivered. As they reach their destination the submarine is spotted by 3 American destroyers and contrary to his original order captain Shinichi decides to face the enemy using the Lorelei device. Soon they learn that Lorelei isnít what they expected it to be.

Japanese war movie based on best-selling Harutoshi Fukui novel is a mixture of historical facts and science fiction. The film presents the last weeks of the war and secret Japanese plan that involved German-built submarine and its unusual detecting system called Lorelei. The creators used French submarine Surcouf armed with heavy guns as a model for I-507 and used lots of CGI to make it look real. Unfortunately despite the interesting plot and some impressive scenes the production, just like in case of American war movie Below, lacks any realism, which significantly lowers the ratings of the film. Of course since this is science fiction some parts should be unrealistic, but some of the battle scenes are simply laughable.

Overall interesting approach to the theme of Japanese navy at the end of the war, intruiging plot, but the film simply fails to deliver all the build up from early scenes.


Our rating

5.6

Film value

7 / 10

Realism factor

2 / 5

Adventure factor

3 / 5

Historical accuracy

2 / 5



Lorelei: The Witch of the Pacific Ocean full movie


full movie Lorelei: The Witch of the Pacific Ocean on DVD

Creators of Lorelei: The Witch of the Pacific Ocean

Shinji Higuchi movies

Cellin Gluck movies

Cellin Gluck

director


Harutoshi Fukui movies

Harutoshi Fukui

screenplay


Satoshi Suzuki movies

Satoshi Suzuki

screenplay



Cast of Lorelei: The Witch of the Pacific Ocean

Koji Yakusho movies koji-yakusho

Koji Yakusho

as Masami Shinichi


Satoshi Tsumabuki movies satoshi-tsumabuki

Satoshi Tsumabuki

as Yukito Origasa


Toshiro Yanagiba movies toshiro-yanagiba

Toshiro Yanagiba

as Kizaki Toshiro


Yu Kashii movies yu-kashii

Yu Kashii

as Paula Atsuko Ebner


Ken Ishiguro movies ken-ishiguro

Ken Ishiguro

as Narumi Takasu


Shinichi Tsutsumi movies shinichi-tsutsumi

Shinichi Tsutsumi

as Asakura Ryokitsu


Colter Allison movies colter-allison

Colter Allison

as Lt. Minott


David Austin movies david-austin

David Austin

as Lt. Dodet


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in Lorelei: The Witch of the Pacific Ocean

World War II (1936-1945)