Master and Commander: The Far Side of the World war movie
Master and Commander: The Far Side of the World war movie

Master and Commander: The Far Side of the World (2003, United States)

Categories: naval battle moviesnavy movies

Running time: 135 minutes

Language: English / French / Portuguese


During the Napoleonic Wars in Europe Captain "Lucky" Jack Aubrey of HMS Surprise is ordered to pursue the French privateer Acheron in the Southern Atlantic. The orders are simple enough, at least on the paper, in practice Acheron is almost twice the size of HMS Surprise and has large advantage in number of cannons. But the crew of Surprise believes that their captain has unusual luck and will find the way to beat the Frenchmen. But Acheron, apart from the technical superiority also has cunning captain, who manages to get HMS Surprise... by surprise in the foggy weather. Badly damaged British ship has lost the steer and the crew had to use the rowboats to drag HMS Surprise into the fog bank. The ship survived the attack, but Aubrey learned that their cannons were unable even to penetrate the hull of Acheron, which makes their mission even more dangerous. Instead of returning to the port for repairs he decides to pursuit Acheron and even though the French are heading towards the Cape Horn.

Film made with spectacular level of realism showing the life aboard 18th or 19th century warship. The chase after French privateer is exciting, the fight scenes are done remarkably well, it’s hard to find a scene in the movie that could be pointed out as obsolete or boring. Of course it was adapted from fiction novels, so although such duels in the middle of the ocean most probably took place, this particular story isn’t based on true events. But still it is remarkable war movie presenting all the skills and tactics the captains of sailing ships had to use to overcome the opponents.




Our rating

8.8

Film value

9 / 10

Realism factor

5 / 5

Adventure factor

5 / 5

Historical accuracy

3 / 5



Master and Commander: The Far Side of the World full movie


full movie Master and Commander: The Far Side of the World full movie
full movie Master and Commander: The Far Side of the World on DVD
full movie Master and Commander: The Far Side of the World on BluRay


Creators of Master and Commander: The Far Side of the World

Peter Weir movies

Peter Weir

director


Peter Weir movies

Peter Weir

screenplay


Patrick O’Brian movies

John Collee movies

John Collee

screenplay



Cast of Master and Commander: The Far Side of the World

Russell Crowe movies russell-crowe

Russell Crowe

as Captain Jack Aubrey


Paul Bettany movies paul-bettany

Paul Bettany

as Dr. Stephen Maturin


James D’Arcy movies james-d’arcy

James D’Arcy

as 1st Lt. Tom Pullings


Edward Woodall movies edward-woodall

Edward Woodall

as 2nd Lt. William Mowett


Robert Pugh movies robert-pugh

Robert Pugh

as Mr. Allen, Master


Max Pirkis movies max-pirkis

Max Pirkis

as Blakeney, Midshipman


Chris Larkin movies chris-larkin

Chris Larkin

as Capt. Howard, Royal Marines


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in Master and Commander: The Far Side of the World

Napoleonic Wars (1803-1815)





Master and Commander: The Far Side of the World war movie © 2013-2017 War Movies Info

Google+ profile war films ww2 movies Kriegsfilme filmy wojenne war movies blog convoy movies